The Waiting Game

19 Oct

Happy Friday!!!!! I am particularly excited for this weekend because I have a surprise planned for Stefano – I’m such a sneaky girlfriend.

I didn’t get home until late last night because my volleyball game was one of the later scheduled matches. By the time I walked in the house, it was almost ten, which meant that it was not going to be a fancy dinner. Enter grilled cheese sandwich, a la toaster oven.

I promise you, toasted bread and melted cheese will never disappoint.

I had a couple of surprises waiting for me while I munched on my dinner and they’re making me unbearably curious.

These packages from my mom are presents for my 23rd birthday, which is on Tuesday. However, she gave me strict instructions not to open them until the day of my birthday, so now I have to play the waiting game for the next 4 days – booooo!!!

Patience is definitely not my greatest virtue and I know it’s going to be torture to have them sitting in my room, taunting me until the 23rd.

I made sure that my breakfast this morning was a bit more filling and nutritious, as delicious as a cheese sandwich is.

My go-to scramble: three eggs, one sun dried tomato and basil chicken sausage, and a handful of frozen vegetables. I made the best decision ever when I added some goat cheese right on top as I finished cooking the eggs.

Never eat eggs without goat cheese ever again.

The creaminess of the melted goat cheese added some much-needed pizzazz to a routine breakfast. Holy yum.

It looked cold and rainy outside, so I curled up with a mug of mango black tea to warm up my insides. It’s not as good as the cinnamon spice tea, but it will definitely do in a pinch.

The Best Of DC awards came out the other day and their ‘Worth the Drive’ category inspired to me to take a road trip with Stefano to the Shenandoah Valley this weekend. I’m going to propose the idea to him tonight and see how he feels about peeping leaves for a day.

Source

 

How could this not be a good way to spend a day trip? Their weekly report says that the leaves are at 90% saturation right now, so I think it’s time to head on down before the weather gets too cold and the leaves are all gone.

I hope you all have a splendid weekend – I can’t believe it’s almost the end of October! Catch you guys soon.

Food For Thought: Where is the best spot to see changing leaves where you live? What are your favorite fall road trips?

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “The Waiting Game”

  1. thegloryoflori October 21, 2012 at 2:04 am #

    I live across the street from a park and it is beautiful any time of the year! My fav road trips no matter the season are to see people I love and miss. It is the best feeling!

  2. Aunt Rebecca October 24, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    Ddja go?

Your turn to share!

