What Will Get Me Through Winter

16 Oct

I’ve found it. I’ve discovered what will get me through the dark mornings and the bone-chilling cold of winter.

It was a rather serendipitous moment when I discovered it, actually. My co-worker and I were sitting outside Caribou Coffee at lunch yesterday, when it began to rain. We still had a good 40 minutes of lunch left, so we decided to move inside and continue our conversation. She was wielding a Starbucks coffee and I had my ever-stylish pink lunchbox, so I decided to buy something to stave off potential employees demanding our expulsion. It was cold so I was looking for a hot tea and this one seemed to be the most appealing. Best $2.11 I have ever spent! Except for, perhaps, my pumpkin from the weekend.

I usually sweeten the crap out of add some sugar to my tea, but this was naturally sweetened and delicious. “An invigorating blend spiced with cinnamon, cloves and orange peel” you guys! I am also fighting the urge to not use an Oxford comma in the quote, but they didn’t use one. It hurts.

I liked it so much that I bought a container of it this morning and I’m hiding it away in my desk at work so nobody can steal it. Thank you, Caribou gods.

As I may have mentioned before, I am on a major peanut butter kick right now and I’m trying to find vehicles for it that aren’t spoons or fingers. Enter toast. I’m probably eating too many carbs between the toast and cereal but I don’t care – I have to stay warm for winter! Underneath that mess is some TJ’s Honey Greek yogurt and sliced strawberries, with a few chia seeds. Stef and I didn’t have our usual Trader Joe’s date on Friday night so I am running low on groceries – this must happen tonight.

Speaking of date, my roommates and I had a house dinner date at home on Sunday and we put together this little masterpiece:

The pesto ricotta chicken I had prepared for a dinner party awhile back made another appearance, along with some salad and seasoned rice. Love me some roommate bonding.

As for Tuesday’s Tidbit, here’s a picture of neighbors down the street from my house who are all ready for Halloween. Excuse the quality, it was dark and rainy when I took the picture. Adds to the overall “feel” though, right?

Food for Thought: Do you dress up for Halloween? What is your costume going to be this year?

I’m thinking about going as Catwoman!

 

 

 

One Response to “What Will Get Me Through Winter”

  1. Aunt Rebecca October 16, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    I knitted some cat ears once, for a costume. Sewed them to hair combs. They were sooo easy!happy fall, babe. Remember, cashmere!

Your turn to share!

