TCK

12 Oct

Major blogger fail of the morning: leaving behind my camera cord to upload pictures. Boooooooooooooo. So this is going to a picture-less post (at least of my life, I will add some stock photos) – sorry!

Didn’t get to blogging last night because I was watching the Vice Presidential Debates. I don’t have normal TV channels, but my roommates and I have this thing called a Roku which lets you stream things? I have no idea how it works or how to work it, but you can get Netflix, Pandora, Hulu, and all sorts of other things. I should probably figure out how to use it.

My favorite picture of the night.

I swear, sometimes I feel like technology moves so fast I don’t have time to adapt to it before they’re onto the next thing. My grandma on the other hand, is a total tech whiz. Never mind the fact that she is an octogenarian, she has email, Facebook, and her iPad figured out. Not only that, she can still sew me dresses from a pattern. I just adore her!

So today, two things are happening: I am getting my hair cut for the first time in 14 months (seriously, Sara?) and then I’m going to a potluck dinner for third culture kids (TCK). What is a TCK? It’s basically somebody who spent a significant portion of their developmental stage of life in a culture that wasn’t their parents’ native country. Many of these people are children from military families who live overseas or missionaries. What often happens is that a child will return to their “home” country and realize that they don’t feel comfortable there because of the amount of time they spent in another culture. However, they don’t feel 100% comfortable in the “foreign” country either because they are not natives. What ends up happening is this feeling that you don’t fully “belong” in either country.

I don’t feel that I am a total TCK by definition, as one of my parents is in fact from the “foreign” country I spent time in, but the feelings of belonging, or lack thereof, are similar so I’m going to count myself as a halfsie TCK. How about that? I don’t even fit into the club for people who don’t fit in!

I am looking forward to the potluck, because each person is going to bring a dish from their “foreign” country. So that means lots and lots of different kinds of food – right up my alley, ya’ll! I’m bringing basbousa, an Egyptian dessert made from semolina flour. It can be found all over the Mediterranean under various names. The Greeks call it revani, the Turks call it ravani, other parts of the Arab world call it hareesa or pastusha. Whatever you want to call it, it’s delicious.

Source

There a million and one recipes for it and they’re all different. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to taste this yet (the downside to baking) so I have no idea if the way I made it turned out well. After the taste test tonight, I will post the recipe if it turns out okay.

Happy Friday!

Food for Thought:  Are any of you TCKs? Are you, one, or both of your parents an immigrant or immigrants?

2 Responses to “TCK”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Honey Pig « Magia e Pasta - January 14, 2013

    […] because we each had our own separate social events on Friday. I spent Friday night with a group of TCK friends at a Korean restaurant in Annandale, VA called Honey Pig. Apparently, this is the place to be for […]

  2. WOL Challenge Day 2 + [Recipe] « Magia e Pasta - February 12, 2013

    […] that Turks and Greeks and even other Arabs have different names for the same thing. It has already appeared on the blog, but I didn’t include a recipe the previous time. After making it twice and having positive […]

Your turn to share!

