Ghost Office

8 Oct

Happy Columbus Day, all! Here in the nation’s capital, people actually celebrate it, so my office is dead today. I volunteered to work, because it meant that I could get an extra vacation day and really, who actually celebrates Columbus Day? Silly Washingtonians.

Hope you all had a great weekend – I had a wonderful time on Friday at the 90s cover band concert. My housemates and I rocked out to Spice Girls, N’Sync, Madonna, Eve 6, and plenty of other 90s classics. I can’t believe we are in an era where that music is old – it means I’m getting old.

I spent most of my Saturday here, at the Newseum in downtown Washington. It was Teacher’s Day, which meant that all teachers (meaning Stefano) were admitted for free and their guests (meaning me) were admitted for $10. Considering the normal price of a ticket is almost $22, it was a really great deal.

The museum itself is one of the best things DC has going – seriously, if you’re a tourist in the city make this museum a priority and be prepared to spend all day there. It has so much to do and see (a reflection on some of its contents will be posted tonight) and thoroughly covers the history and evolution of the news and press in an interactive, engaging way. Doesn’t hurt that there’s a fabulous view on the roof deck.

After spending most of the day at the museum, I spotted this shirt on our way out, through the gift shop. I was really, really tempted to buy it.

Any other Big Bang Theory fans out there?

Stef and I went straight from the Newseum to Founding Farmers, a really well-known and well-liked restaurant in the city. They are all about sustainability and buying local, so I was looking forward to trying it out. Our reservation was for 4:45 PM (I swear, the only time you can get a reservation for this place is at 4:45 or 10:15) and we met up with Stefano’s aunt, who was visiting from California, along with his cousin and girlfriend. The daughter of one of Stef’s aunt’s closest friends goes to school at Georgetown, so she joined us as well!

The atmosphere at the restaurant is very lively and it was busy when we got there. Who eats this early? Apparently, everybody who is trying to eat at Founding Farmers. The staff were all very friendly and we were seated almost immediately. I have to say, everything on the menu looked so tasty that I had a difficult time deciding what I wanted to order. Not a bad problem to have.

I ended up going with their classic cheeseburger, because I’m a fan of classics and it was so delicious. The meat was cooked just right and was locally and sustainably sourced, which always makes for better eats. On the side, I selected the roasted root vegetables which were also well-cooked and delicious.

Stefano ordered the Enchilada and Steak, which was exactly what it sounds like – an enchilada and a steak, with corn on the cob as a side. Of course I had to steal a couple of bites. The steak was perfectly cooked, but I could have passed on the enchilada.

We tried to stay up late on Saturday night in order to watch UW play Oregon, but it didn’t even start until 10:30 PM (7:30, Pacific time)! We made it to half-time but then we were exhausted and had to call it a night. They ended up losing pretty badly (hey, Oregon is #2 in the country right now!), but Seattle made up for it by a winning Sunday – both the Seahawks and Sounders won!

Stef and I are huge Sounders FC fans (the Seattle soccer team) and we even had season tickets when we were living in Seattle. Last night’s game was against Portland, our biggest rival and we thrashed them, 3-0. Cascadia Cup, here we come!

Anyhow, it time to get going on some editing, but I will leave you with this motivational message to wipe out any case of the Mondays you may have.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Ghost Office”

  1. Lucy L October 15, 2012 at 2:47 am #

    Yay! Another awesome DC museum to visit on my next trip there!

    Yesssss Sheldon over Pedro for president any day.

    Speaking of French, my sister has taken to insulting me using things she learned in class. But then I just call her by her (formerly Ms. Myers)-given nickname. pipi, and that seems to shut her up.

  2. Sarah C October 18, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    The Newseum is my ABSOLUTE favorite of anywhere I’ve been in DC (blame the Mass Comm. degree on that one). That’s always my first suggestion to anyone who comes into town for a visit!

Your turn to share!

