Half the Sky on PBS

3 Oct

Good morning, friends! For some reason, I got ready really early this morning and has time to make a super protein-packed breakfast.

Into the pan went two eggs, one sweet basil chicken sausage from TJ’s, lots of frozen veggies, and some shredded cheese. I love when I have enough time in the morning to cook up a nice, filling breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I love oatmeal and cereal, but it just doesn’t fill me up the way protein does.

I stayed up way too late last night because I was watching the second part of the premier of a documentary called Half the Sky. The film is based on a book written by Nicholas Kristof and his wife, Sheryl WuDunn called Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide. I first read this book in a college class I was taking, called ‘Women’s Rights as Human Rights’ and it was one of the assigned readings.

This book totally changed my life and my goals for what I want to do with my future. The message of the book is simple, yet powerful: women’s equality is the moral issue of the 21st century and empowering women is the single, most effective thing you can do to create change in communities. The books takes the reader all over the world and describes the atrocities that millions of women suffer, simply because they had the “misfortune” of being born a woman. Sex trafficking, honor killings, and female circumcision all make an appearance in the book. Many of the topics are depressing, disheartening, and even disgusting, but there is also a thread of hope: there are several organizations that are helping women overcome these atrocities and empowering them to be a force for change in their families and communities. For each horrifying anecdote about a girl being sold as a sex slave, there is a story of a girl who was determined to finish her education and pay it forward to other women in her community.

PBS is currently doing a two-part premiere of the film, which features several A-list celebrity women who travel around the world to see these events unfold firsthand. The reasoning behind incorporating famous actresses is to bring notoriety to the film and amplify the voices of the people doing the real work. Women like Meg Ryan, America Ferrera, and Olivia Wilde are just a few of the big names who have joined Kristof and WuDunn in this call to action.

Having seen the film, I still recommend the book as first choice, but both will leave a lasting impact on your awareness and your conscience.  PBS is currently streaming the full-length episodes for free through October 8th, so head over to their site  if you want to watch the episodes.

First Episode of Half the Sky (2 hours)

Second Episode of Half the Sky (2 hours)

One Response to “Half the Sky on PBS”

  1. Aunt Rebecca October 3, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    I completely love that you’re carrying the banner for women’s rights, my dear!

Your turn to share!

