Fakin’ It

2 Oct

Pasta, that is. Faking pasta. It’s delicious. But first, let’s backtrack to lunch, where I had all kinds of fruits and veggies.

Spinach salad with cucumbers and a lemon juice/dijon/olive oil dressing with baby carrots, sliced strawberries, and an apple on the side. BAM! I’m making my way up the food pyramid today!

After work, I headed over to my Zumba class where we shook what our mamas gave us for a good hour and worked up quite a sweat. On the walk home from the bus stop, I noticed a really eery fog rolling into the neighborhood…speaking of fog, everybody in this city always tells me that Seattle is really foggy. Seattle isn’t foggy in the slightest. Also, in August and September, Seattle had 0.03″ inches of rain – rainy city, my behind.

Anyyyyywayyyy….

I had a big spaghetti squash staring me in the face when I walked into the kitchen to make dinner, but I didn’t really want squash. I really just wanted a big bowl of pasta with cheese. So I made the best of both worlds and made fake pasta, also known as spaghetti squash pasta.

Let me tell you, it is so much easier than everyone makes it out to be. Here’s what you do:

Poke a bunch of holes on the outside of the squash with a fork or knife.

Stick squash in microwave for 11 or so minutes (until the rind is soft when you press on it).

Cut open length-wise and gently scoop out the seeds and extra gunk (sounds really appealing, huh?).

Use a fork to extract the strands of squash and mix with whatever you like!

Since I was craving pasta, I mixed it with tomato sauce and grated parmesan.

I also steamed some broccoli to go alongside and seasoned it with some salt, pepper, and some Mrs. Dash-type seasoning. Yum, yum, yum.

I was craving some sweetness and something carb-y afterwards, so I had a peanut butter and honey English muffin to take the edge off.

I’m feeling pretty pleased about my meal choices today! They were varied, tasty, and full of the good stuff like vitamins, minerals, protein, and healthy fats. Gold star for Sara. Off to bed now, sleep tight!

Food For Thought: Do you ever try to substitute a craving with a “healthier” version? If so, what is your healthy version of a “not so great for you” food?

One Response to “Fakin’ It”

  1. Aunt Rebecca October 3, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Apple, sliced, when we sit down in the evening to watch Bones. We used to have ice cream when we watched movies at home.

Your turn to share!

