Euro Night at the French Embassy

2 Oct

It is a wet morning over in the nation’s capitol and I practically had to swim to work this morning. Meanwhile, Seattle is experiencing its driest August/September/October on record – coincidence? I think not.

Today’s breakfast was great for those wet, drizzly days when you really don’t want to leave your house. I microwaved a small sweet potato, along with a bowl of oatmeal, for about four minutes, then added the peeled and chopped sweet potato and some maple syrup to make a yummy breakfast perfectly suited for October.

Excuse the not-so-great lighting, we have a bulb out in the kitchen,

My Tuesday’s Tidbit is a small peek into my weekend – Friday night, to be exact. Stefano and I spent the evening at the French embassy, which was hosting a showcase of all the European Union countries, complete with food, drink, and dance. It was wonderful!

First of all, the embassy is totally beautiful and has a gorgeous golden statue in the middle of a fountain at the courtyard entrance (please excuse the blur – my camera died so I had to stick to my iPhone for the night).

Stefano and I had a great time wandering through all of the different rooms and trying a variety of different European cuisines. I even got to go back to Italy for a little while! Speaking Italian with those representing Italy was great fun.

There was tons of food and we made sure not to miss any of it. Here’s Stefano sneaking in some Spanish tapas.

The Austrian table was offering sachertorte which, even from somebody who doesn’t like chocolate, could not be turned down.

Some of the countries were offering very stereotypical meals, like the Belgian waffles over in Belgium.

You can barely see the waffle through all the powdered sugar!

That’s Stef showing off the Polish meal, bigos, which ended up being my favorite meal of the night.

Yayyy, Poland! Stefano actually had a Polish foreign exchange student live with him during our senior year of high school – hi Piotr! He and Stef had a great time living together because they are both huge soccer fans. I can attest that many of their nights were spent playing indoor soccer in Stefano’s downstairs playroom, instead of studying for AP Calculus tests.

Piotr and Stefano back in the day, they were just the coolest.

Anyhow, we had a great time exploring all the different countries and even won some prizes! I took a “How Well Do You Know the EU” test and won an umbrella for receiving 100% on the test! I also took a British trivia test and scored a backpack – I think I am secretly European. Both Stef and I love to travel and have a special place in our hearts for Europe, since a lot of his family lives there (they are spread out in Spain, Switzerland, and Italy) and I used to live in Italy. We jokingly dubbed this night as “the Eurotrip for poor people”. It was a great way to experience Europe again and we both had a ton of fun!

Anyway folks, that’s all for this morning. Catch ya this evening and if you’re in DC, stay dry!

Food For Thought: Have you ever been to Europe? What is your favorite country to visit? If you’ve never been, do you want to go? Where would you choose to go?

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Euro Night at the French Embassy”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Boy In Science Class « Magia e Pasta - January 11, 2013

    […] After another. […]

  2. Passport DC | Magia e Pasta - May 7, 2013

    […] the EU Open House occurs and all the European embassies are open to visit. I’ve been to the French embassy before, but I’d love to visit […]

Your turn to share!

