September Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

1 Oct

Happy Monday and HAPPY OCTOBER!

Source

October is one of my favorites, because it ushers in the series of special occasions in my life: Stef’s mom’s birthday and my birthday are both in October; followed by Thanksgiving in November; then it’s my brother’s birthday, Stef’s brother’s birthday, and Christmas in December; and finally finishing up with New Year’s, Stef and my anniversary, and my mom’s birthday in January. Phew! I could keep going in that vein and tack on Valentine’s Day in February and Stef’s birthday in March – but there is enough time between those that I don’t feel bombarded. Let the celebrations begin!

Today is Foodie Pen Pal reveal day! Some of you might remember this from last month, but if you’re new, here’s how it works: created by Lindsay at Lean Green Bean,  after signing up, you get a pen pal assignment to whom you send a package with yummy local foods, gourmet treats, or homemade yummies (there’s a $15 limit). You also receive a similar package (not from the same person, however) and it is just a great way to try new things, get recipe ideas from new people, and just connect with other foodies around the country. If you are interested in participating, you may click the ‘join’ button on the right side of my page!

This month, I was on the receiving end of a package from the lovely Rachael, who doesn’t have a blog but is the sweetest, just the same.

Let’s take a look at the spread I received…

Sorry for the weird view…Wordpress is not letting me rotate the picture for some odd reason. In the picture:

  • Spicy Sesame Linguine that Rachael picked up from her local farmer’s market and came highly recommended.
  • Freeze-dried strawberries from Trader Joe’s (I told her I loved strawberries and she delivered!)

  • Bourbon maple syrup – yes, that’s a real thing. It says it can be used on sweet things, like pancakes and French toast, but also makes an excellent marinade for meat. Stay tuned to see what I do with it.
  • Green tea mints from Trader Joe’s – one of Rachael’s favorites. They are so yummy and are now stashed away in my purse for whenever I need a little hit of sweet.

Thanks for a wonderful FPP package, Rachael! If you’d like to see the package I sent, you can head over to Kathleen’s blog! This is such a fun program, everybody – I highly recommend that you try it at least once! Click on the button on the right-hand side of my page to join.

On an unrelated note – the giveaway for my mystery fall box is closed and we have a winner! Head over to my giveaway post to see if you’ve won.

Hope everybody is having a great morning, catch up with you later!

Your turn to share!

