September Bakin’ Friends Reveal

28 Sep

Good morning and TGIF!

I am excited for today because Stef and I have a special evening planned tonight. We are going to Euro Night, hosted by the French Embassy, which is a showcase of all the various cultures and cuisines across Europe. We get to be all dressed up and try foods and drinks from all over the continent! Europe, food, and Stef – possibly my favorite combination. Do you have any fun plans for the weekend?

Friday’s post usually (and by usually, I mean the last two weeks) highlights an article or blog that really resonated with me during the week. This week it’s going to be a little different because I’m going to reveal what I received from my Bakin’ Friend this month!

Here’s how Bakin’ Friends works, to quote the creator, Steph, herself:

“Bakin’ Friends is all about connecting bakers, bloggers, foodies, and people who just like sweets! We’re in the business of baking and making friends!

Each month we will be baking goodies, with a secret ingredient, to send out to one another. I’ll let you know at the beginning of the month what secret ingredient we’re using. It might be chocolate, it might be maple syrup, it may be bacon, whatever it is though you’ll be required to use it (unless there’s an allergy to the ingredient) in your baked goody.”

This month, my friend was Linda from My Foodgasm Journal and nothing could have prepared me for what was in the mail. The secret ingredient was cinnamon and I was interested to see what she came up with. I was so excited to find this at my door one night!

Guys. She made Oatmeal Bacon Waffle cookies. BACON. In cookies! I have never heard of anything like it!

I couldn’t get over how cute the waffle pattern in the cookie was and honestly, my mind is still blown about putting bacon in a cookie. Gold star for creativity! Luckily for my roommates, I had plenty to share – thanks for making me look good, Linda 😉

If you are interested in signing up for Bakin’ Friends, head on over to Steph’s blog to get started! What could be better than baking things and sending them to new friends and then receiving all these yummies right at your doorstep? It’s a wonderful thing.

If you want to check out what I sent to my Bakin’ Friend, Maegen, then head over to Healthy, Happy, Nourished to see her post! Her husband (they just got married in June!), Jon, took the cutest pictures of her opening up the Pineapple Crumb Cake I sent her.

Have a wonderful weekend, everybody 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my giveaway that is open until Monday!


Your turn to share!

