Sniffles

24 Sep

Good morning, Monday! You sure snuck up on me quickly…I cannot be the only one who thinks the clock moves just a little bit faster on the weekends. I could have sworn that we just skipped Saturday entirely. This weekend was a whole lot of laying on the couch, mainly because Stef got sick towards the end of last week and then proceeded to infect me. I’m sure we made a really cute pair, sitting on the couch. surrounded by tissues.

Highlight of the weekend: Baked French Toast.

Hello, lover.

I had a ton of bread rolls left over from the dinner party last week and they were way too stale to be edible. That is, until I soaked the life out of them in (soy) milk and eggs, after chopping them into bite-sized pieces and letting them refrigerate overnight.

I think you guys have figured out by now how bad I am at recipes (I tend to just throw in a little bit of this and a hint of that, measurements be damned), so here’s what I threw in the casserole dish.

  • cubed bread (use any you can get your hands on)
  • six eggs
  • about 3 cups of milk? Maybe? Don’t quote me on that.
  • chopped walnuts
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • cloves

I mixed all the dry ingredients together in a bowl and then sprinkled it all over the bread cubes, so they were thoroughly covered. Then I whipped the eggs and milk together and poured the mixture over the bread, making sure to reach as much of the bread as possible.

I prepared it on Saturday night and then it was ready to go on Sunday morning, but as long as you let it sit for a few hours, you could do it same-day.

Sunday morning, into the oven went the casserole, heated at 350 degrees. I baked it for 20 minutes with tin foil covering the dish, then cooked it for another 20 minutes, uncovered, so the top pieces could get nice and toasted.

40 minutes from the time I took it out of the fridge, it was ready to eat. 5 minutes after that, it was totally gone. Guess it turned out okay.

I had some ground turkey I need to use up, so I decided to make a meat sauce (that never happens!) for our pasta lunch. The pasta sauce was a mix of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and fresh tomatoes and, couple with the turkey and myriad spices, it was ridiculously good. I could have eaten the sauce all by itself. I suspect it was because of the secret ingredient I added near the end – the rind of the parmesan cheese. Just be sure to fish it out before you start eating.

You really can’t have enough cheese in my book.

Workout highlight was my Saturday class, called Muscle Up. We had a substitute teacher, who focused solely on arms, so they felt like they were about to fall off of my body by the end of the class. Hoping to get a good leg workout at Body Pump tonight.

Yes, I’m that weird girl who takes pictures of herself at the gym – the things I do for this blog!

Now I’m going to be that weird girl in the office who can’t stop sniffling – I’m going to be so popular by the end of the day.

Before I sign off, I want to shout out to my blog-twin, Andrea at A Doctor In the House, who published her 100th blog post today! To celebrate, she compiled a list of 100 tips for living a healthy life and I am sending you there for some Monday motivation! You can see my tip, it’s number 58 🙂 This is my 97th post, so if we stay on track, my 100th post should be on Wednesday morning! Any ideas on how I should celebrate?

Your turn to share!

