Victorious

20 Sep

Hey guys and gals! I’m writing to you as a member of an undefeated volleyball team! My co-ed league started today and I am proud to say that we are now 1-0. I don’t know about all of you, but I get seriously competitive and I hate, hate, hate losing. We took the first set and the other team won the second, so it was down to 15 measly points in the third set and we took it, 15-13! It was a close one, but we pulled out the W.

Riding the high of victory, I walked into my house and was greeted with a waft of freshly baked cookie smell. My roommate has been baking. Excellent. I nibbled on a chocolate chip cookies while I sliced up some sweet potatoes and squash for roasting in the oven. I had originally planned on waiting for those to make it out of the oven, but I got impatient. And hungry. So I scoured the pantry and fridge and came up with this:

In the bowl:

  • 1 can salmon
  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 1 persian cucumber
  • half of a tomato
  • sliced basil
  • crumbled feta
  • drizzle of olive oil

But wait, it gets better. Because I took that lovely little mixture and put it into a toasted, whole-wheat pita.

That, my friends, adds to my victory list of the day.

I was going to partake in some more of the chocolate chip cookies, but I had already had a treat today, in the form of a vanilla milkshake from Shake Shack. YUM.

It didn’t go with my lunch so well, which was the last of the chicken from my dinner party the other night, but that’s okay.

That is a dish I will definitely be making again.

Since my game didn’t start until 7 this evening, I had some trail mix in the late afternoon to tide me over until dinner.

Yep, that’s totally how I eat trail mix…nom nom nom.

Alrighty, well, it is time for me to hit the hay – so looking forward to the weekend! Hope you all have a great night, catch up with you on Friday.

 

5 Responses to “Victorious”

  1. travisrr17 September 20, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Your pictures make me hungry. ha

    • shefny September 20, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

      Time to make your own food, then 🙂

      • travisrr17 September 20, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

        One step ahead of you! HA! Luckily I had some left overs.

      • shefny September 20, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

        Leftovers are the best!

  2. Amanda Schulz September 21, 2012 at 4:03 am #

    Nom nom nom 😛 Miss you!

Your turn to share!

