Storm Watch

18 Sep

Hey everybody! Sorry for the late post – I had to finish up a work project before I could get to bloggin’. We’re on storm watch in Washington, with tornado warnings issued for parts of D.C. and Northern Virginia – yikes! I can honestly tell you that I have never lived in a city with tornado warnings.

Something in the sky is definitely a-brewing because it was rainy, windy, and chilly when I left the house this morning. I put on the first scarf of the season! I have amassed an enormous collection of scarves over the years and it looks like I’ll have plenty of opportunity to use them in the next few days.

I couldn’t decide whether I wanted something warm or something cold for breakfast this morning, so I decided to split and do both! I had a small yogurt bowl with Kashi Go Lean and some chia seeds, but also enjoyed a toasted PB & J on an English muffin.

The weather is putting a bit of a damper on my plans today, I was originally planning on having Stefano, his brother, his cousin and girlfriend, and a friend over for dinner. That is still on, but burgers were on the menu and it doesn’t look like it would be a good grilling experience in this weather. I could always cook them on the stove, but burgers are just meant to be grilled over a fire, caveman-like. Or over charcoals, evolved caveman-like.

Instead, I will have to come up with something that can be made without interference from the elements. I’m really feeling Mediterranean food (because when am I not, really?), so I’m thinking pesto-ricotta stuffed chicken breasts with a grilled vegetable couscous. I saw some intriguing recipes in the cookbooks in my kitchen this morning, but will investigate more thoroughly over lunch.

Any ideas for a storm-worthy dinner for six?

 

3 Responses to “Storm Watch”

  1. Aunt Rebecca September 18, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    Hot chocolate with rum in it… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shefny September 18, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      I don’t know if my guests would love having that for dinner, but a great idea nonetheless.

  2. petreaburchard September 19, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Oh yeah, go with Rebecca’s idea and nobody will notice you cooked those burgers on the stove.

Your turn to share!

