Surprise on the Doorstep

14 Sep

TGIF, everyone! I am always looking forward to the weekend, but this one is going to be particularly special because one of Stefano’s brothers is coming into town to visit! It will be so nice to see a familiar face from home and it will be great for Stef to see some family and get some man time in :P.

Today’s breakfast came together quite easily, because I made it yesterday! After not being able to finish the burrito from last night (that’s what happens when you cook for two and there is only one…), I stuck it in a Tupperware so I was able to reheat it in the toaster oven. I hadn’t anticipated making a smoothie this morning, but I had to after finding a surprise on my doorstep yesterday!

My dearest, darling grandma read about my smoothie disaster a few days back and sent me this! Since the opening is on the bottom of the container, instead of the top, there will be no more smoothie splatters around my kitchen. Thank you, Grandma! One of the other things I love about these babies is that they control portion sizes for me, so I don’t end up with mondo amounts of smoothie.

In the wrap:

  • 1 1/2 scrambled eggs (I used 3 to make a double batch last night)
  • shredded mozzarella cheese
  • a handful of frozen veggies
  • sliced tomato
  • sliced avocado

In the smoothie:

  • handful of frozen berries
  • 1 heaping spoonful of plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 heaping spoonful of regular vanilla yogurt
  • a sprinkle of chia seeds
  • enough vanilla soy milk to smooth (see what I did there?) things out

Perfect portion sizes for breakfast.

Since today is Friday and I have designated it as ‘Follow Friday’, I want to feature some things I’ve picked up from other blogs throughout the week, whether it be a recipe that was inspired by a fellow blogger or a topic of interest that was first suggested by somebody else. I read a ton of great blogs and this is an easy way to introduce you all to some of the fabulous writing that is out in the blogosphere!

Today’s Follow Friday features Andrea from the blog, A Doctor in the House. Andrea is currently a third-year medical student at Indiana University and it is beyond me how she manages to keep up a blog while studying medicine full-time. For anybody who is considering medical school, she also has a great series of posts about valuable things she has learned in her time at medical school. Today, I specifically wanted to highlight a post she wrote yesterday, called ‘Confession: I Am Not a Fitness Fanatic’.

She talks about when she first started blogging and how she felt intimidated by many bloggers in the healthy living community who seem to devote so much time to fitness and do things like running marathons regularly, or working out every single day, or waking up at 5 AM to hit the gym. In her words, “For me, fitness is extremely important in my life but I would be lying if I said it came first, second, or even third in my daily list of to-dos.  Sleeping, studying, spending time with Kyle or family, and other commitments take away from my workout routine a lot.”

I love this because it is really easy to fee overwhelmed by the amazing things people do to take care of their bodies. I am always so impressed when I hear that a fellow blogger set a new PR in a half marathon or lifted heavier weights than they have before. There is a part of me, and this is natural, that wants to compare myself to them and oftentimes that means I end up feeling inadequate. I know I’m not the only one who feels this way and I feel like Andrea expressed it quite eloquently when she wrote, “It’s easy for me to get down on myself and compare myself to these other people who are out training for marathons, running Warrior Dashes and Tough Mudders, etc.  But instead of feeling worthless, I am choosing to find motivation from these people!  Maybe one day I can do those kinds of activities too.  But right now, I am okay with my level of fitness.”

I have been consistently working out five days a week for over two months now and I have to say, it is a huge time commitment. I almost always take Friday and Sunday off, but it is tiring to get home from work and the gym at 7:30 or 8 and then have to make dinner. It would definitely improve my social life if I went to Happy Hour with co-workers after work or stayed out late on Friday nights because I didn’t have to wake up early to go to the gym on Saturday mornings, but I do it because fitness and my health is a priority to me. Maybe someday, I will run a half marathon (or even a marathon!), but for now, I am content with making my 1-hour, 5x/weekly commitment to my body and my health.

Food For Thought: Do you exercise as regularly as you would like? What prevents you from getting to the gym or being more active?

3 Responses to “Surprise on the Doorstep”

  1. aawenzel September 14, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Thank you so much for the feature!! I am so glad to know that I’m not the only one feeling this way! You are so great and I’m glad we found each others blog!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Follow Friday #3: Lessons « Magia e Pasta - February 8, 2013

    […] so today is Friday and I want to bring back my follow Friday posts. After deciding to do this segment of my blog, I gave it a one or two tries and eventually […]

  2. Follow Friday #4: The Myth of Doing It All | Magia e Pasta - March 1, 2013

    […] FF #2: Andrea from A Doctor In the House […]

Your turn to share!

