Keeping It Low Key

10 Sep

Good morning and happy Monday! I had a very low-key weekend, just as I’d hoped. It was nice to keep things relaxed and uneventful to make up for the overwhelming events of last weekend. I did fit in a couple of yummy meals, though! Saturday night was a delicious lasagna, which sounded delicious after an almost-tornado swept through Washington and left everything sopping wet and wind-blown. The warm, comforting flavors of noodles, cheese, and warm tomato sauce were too good to pass up.

Post-oven goodness…

We ended up eating quite late on Saturday (note the time on the oven clock), but it was totally worth the wait!

The next morning, Stefano was desperate to make Swedish pancakes, and I didn’t see any reason why we shouldn’t! While he was on pancake duty, I got to work reducing some frozen berries and sugar in a saucepan to make a berry sauce to drizzle over the pancakes. That ended up being my favorite way to eat them, though Stef prefers a sprinkle of powdered sugar and some lemon juice.

See that? It’s photographic evidence of Stefano stealing a bit of my pancake off of my plate after he had eaten all of his. Let it be known to all you reader that he is a documented food thief.

Sunday was one of those lazy days I enjoyed on the couch, watching Stephen Fry in America and slurping down a bowl of Trader Joe’s Lentil Soup with Vegetables (I threw in a handful of frozen veggies to supplement it). With a toasted pita on the side, it was my first foray into soups for the season.

As I mentioned in my post on Thursday, I am so excited for fall and all the things that come with it. Soup is one of those things and I am so excited to cook up huge batches of lentil soup to keep my tummy warm and happy.

This morning’s breakfast was a little boring, as I turned my alarm off and accidentally fell asleep again. It was almost 20 minutes later that I awoke and realized it was almost 7 and running short on time. Lucky for me, Kashi Go Lean and some raw oats were there to save the day.

I know some people in the blogosphere have been complaining about people jumping the gun in welcoming fall, but let me tell you, there was a crispness in the air this morning that has not been there since I arrived in the city. I was downright chilly as I walked to the bus stop and I added fall work clothes to the priority shopping list. Perhaps people living in more southern parts of the country are still getting those bright summer mornings, but fall is definitely on its way into Washington!

Quick question: How can you tell that the seasons are changing in your area? When does summer start transitioning into fall?

 

 

 

 

Your turn to share!

