To Everything There is a Season

6 Sep

Well, good morning everybody! It’s not the brightest of mornings here in Washington but I’m inside, so it’s not affecting me too much. I didn’t get too much sleep last night because I stayed up late watching Bill Clinton’s speech at the Democratic National Convention. I managed to pop out of bed pretty quickly, though, and double-checked my cupcakes to make sure the frosting hadn’t melted off the cakes, like last time. Luckily, they were still intact and ready for transport! It is dreary outside, so I was looking for a warm, stick-to-your-ribs breakfast this morning and decided to dress up some oatmeal with walnuts, almonds, raisins, some maple syrup, and a big ole spoonful of peanut butter. It was so hearty, I couldn’t even finish the bowl!

As I walked to work from the bus stop, I took notice of the increasing winds and ominous clouds and decided that fall is well on its way to Washington. As someone who normally wishes for summer all year long (I’m from Seattle, it doesn’t last very long!), I find myself getting excited for autumnal treats and weather that permits boots and leggings.

Pinterest is alive and well with all sorts of fall recipes and decorations, so it’s easy to look forward to trying out all the news things I find and craving the flavors of apple, cinnamon, pumpkin, and cloves. Fall is the season of hearty soups and thick, crusty bread. It’s the time for leg warmers and scarves, without the need for huge down coats. Fall welcomes cheery Halloween-esque decorations, which also means candy! It also happens to be the season in which my birthday arrives. This year will be my golden birthdayย and I will be turning 23 on October 23rd. All in all, I am definitely excited for what’s in store next season, though I will be sad to say goodbye to summer.

Here are some of the things I am most looking forward to in the next few months:

Seeing the leaves change

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Pumpkin EVERYTHING! But especially these yummy bites.

Apple Cider – how cute are these?!

Leggings and boots

Comfy cozy sweaters

Of course, there are tons of other things I’m looking forward to, but it’s time to get to work, so I have to sign off now.

Quick Question: What are you looking forward to in the fall? What is your favorite season?

 

2 Responses to “To Everything There is a Season”

  1. Aunt Rebecca September 6, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    I love fall too! We harvest potatoes & homegrown blue potatoes are the best. Apples come into season… I start baking bread again… And best of all, we light the wood stove.

    I get all my handwoven wool and cashmere shawls out, and I start spinning & knitting again too. I love the crisp mornings, warm days, andcool, breezy evenings. Makes me want to cuddle…

  2. P & S September 6, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Have you ever tried cocoa powder walnuts in oatmeal? C an’t get my chocolate fix too early in the day.

Your turn to share!

