Two Steps Behind

5 Sep

You know those days when you’re super on top of everything and everything gets done when it’s supposed to? Today was not one of those days.

I feel like I’ve been two steps behind everything in my life today. From work assignments, to my workout, to a baking adventure – I was just a little slow on the uptake today.

The morning went by really quickly and I was grateful for a respite in the form of lunch: tuna, garbanzo bean, and arugula salad with a side of the roasted rosemary potatoes I made last night.

Before I knew it, it was time to race to the gym and get to Body Pump. I was doing the back and hamstring set and was wondering why I was struggling so much, when I realized that I had left some extra 1 kg plates on each side of bar – sheesh. I managed to make it through the set, but I’m guessing I am going to be superrrr sore tomorrow.

I had to make a quick stop to Target to pick up some more coat hangers (my closet is getting dangerously full) and some cupcake stuff for a co-workers birthday tomorrow. It was after eight before I even got to my house, so I scurried to get the cupcakes together. Turns out, the box mix I picked up (yes, I cheated) only made 12 cupcakes and I needed 20…whoops.

I scrambled around my pantry for some cupcake fixin’s and I came up with the ingredients for cinnamon oatmeal raisin muffins. The recipe is so simple and they only take about 15 minutes to bake. I will post the recipe soon, I promise 🙂

By the time I was done with the muffins, I was really not in the mood to make anything special for dinner. I ended up just cooking up a cheese quesadilla and finishing up my rosemary roasted potatoes.

It was quick and easy and didn’t take too much fuss. Some days you just need to eat like a college student. And now, in what feels like the first time I can sit down and breathe, I am typing up this post and watching President Clinton nominating President Obama as the representative for the Democratic Party this election. His new vegan diet has done him well, he looks great!

I am going to finish this up so I can focus on his speech, but I hope you all have a wonderful evening and I hope to catch you tomorrow when I’m hopefully not so frazzled!

Your turn to share!

