Fit AND Fat

5 Sep

Good morning, chickadees! Off to a good start this morning, though I lost some getting ready time when I got out of bed by taking a shower (I’m sure my co-workers appreciate it. though). I had a pretty simple cereal breakfast, with Kashi Go Lean, raw oats, and chia seeds so I could get out the door in time.

It’s beginning to feel like fall in the mornings here – there’s a crispness in the air that hasn’t been around since I’ve moved to the city. I hear that fall and spring are the best seasons in Washington, so I’m looking forward to the next few months. I am also looking forward to all the yummy foods that come with fall: apple pie, pumpkin EVERYTHING, soups, and all the Thanksgiving comfort foods. Stef and I aren’t going back to Seattle for Thanksgiving, so we are going to plan our own this year!

As I was making my way downtown on the bus, I read an interesting article published by the BBC, called People Can Be Fat, Yet Fit. The article describes a study of over 43,000 people, that was conducted at the University of South Carolina, which observed that half of their clinically obese patients were diagnosed as “metabolically healthy”, which means they did not suffer from¬†conditions such as diabetes, high cholesterol, or high blood pressure, and that their risk of cardiovascular disease or cancer was identical to those of people in ideal weight categories.

These results really caught me off guard. I know several overweight people who lead healthy, active lifestyles, but it did surprise me that it is possible to be clinically obese while still having normal blood pressure and cholesterol. I feel like people are constantly preaching weight loss for health reasons: getting down to a normal BMI will lower your blood pressure, losing those extra ten pounds will decrease your risk for diabetes. I feel as if these results really turn those claims on their head and I wonder what the aftermath will be when(or rather, if) the study gets widespread media recognition.

Quick Question: Why do you stay active and eat healthy? What have been your preconceptions about the effects of extra weight on your body? Do you think this study will change national dialogue about weight loss and health?

 

Your turn to share!

