Party In the USA

4 Sep

Good evening, dear friends! I am writing to you from my living room couch, where I am doing something I haven’t done in a long time during the week – relaxing! Before I talk about my laid-back evening, I am going to change gears and recap lunch and the rest of my afternoon.

Lunch was a simple salad, with tomatoes, cukes, and avocado chunks. I accompanied it with some sliced pita filled with hummus.

Later in the afternoon, we had a small surprise party for my boss and munched on the brownies I made. Turn’s out, triple fudge brownies with fudge frosting will go fast. No pictures as they were inhaled too fast, but next time.

After work, it was off to Zumba and it was cardio packed and had a really nice girl power element to it – I was feeling really good by the time it was over. What I think is so great about Zumba is that you get so wrapped up in the music and having fun that it really doesn’t feel like exercise – my favorite way to work out.

I was not super hungry by the time I made it home, so I made myself a quesadilla with one slice of tortilla, half a chopped tomato, and half of a sliced avocado. I think warm bread and melted cheese might be the ultimate comfort food.

To continue in the vein of comfort food, I chopped up some red potatoes topped with olive oil and rosemary, then popped them in the oven at 400F for about 45 minutes, turning occasionally. I needed to use them because they were starting to grow things they shouldn’t grow, but they also make the house smell delicious and I will have something yummy to bring for lunch tomorrow.

The oven had heat up the kitchen quite a bit, so I was craving something cold. Cue the smoothie! In went a handful of frozen berries, a few spoonfuls of yogurt, a drizzle of agave, a handful of raw oats, and some soy milk to get things moving.

It totally hit the spot and I slurped it down while curled up on the couch, watching Stephen Fry in America, which is a documentary series about British-born Stephen Fry who decides to explore all 50 states in America in a London cab. It has divided into episodes by region of the United States and I am watching the first episode, called the New World. This covers the area of New England and the mid-Atlantic: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C.

I really like Stephen Fry and it’s interesting to see the country from a foreign perspective. I’ll be honest, though, I haven’t been to much of the United States, so it’s eye-opening to me to see the culture and customs of different states. This is my first time spending a long period of time on the East coast and it’s a huge difference from Seattle and the West coast, in general. I’m looking forward to watching the next few episodes and exploring the country through his lens.

Quick Question: How many states have you visited? Were there any that ended up being different than you predicted? Is there a state (or area of the US) that you would like to visit?

Your turn to share!

