False Alarm

30 Aug

Well, hello Thursday, it’s nice to see you. Not because I like Thursdays, but because it means tomorrow is Friday. I warned you all that I was going to be antsy this week, and here it is. I woke with a huge start this morning, panicking because I thought I had slept through my alarm. When I checked the time, the clock read 6:12 AM. False alarm! Unfortunately, my alarm clock was due to go off only 18 short minutes later, so I didn’t even bother going back to sleep, though I stayed in bed until 6:30. Don’t you hate it when you wake up before you’re supposed to, but it’s not early enough to merit going back to sleep? If I’m going to wake up unnecessarily early, it should be at four or something, so I can roll over and catch a few more zzz’s before the alarm goes off.

Breakfast this morning was an English muffin PB&J, with some chia seeds sprinkled on top. I had a few apple slices alongside, which was a refreshing complement to the richness of the peanut butter. For some reason, I am on a serious sugar kick this week, which might explain why I have been feeling so groggy in the mornings. Definitely need to lay off the sugar.

You know it’s bad when the first thing your co-worker says to you in the morning is, “Wow, you look like you didn’t get any sleep last night!” I’m thinking about doing a little nighttime yoga before bed, to get my body relaxed and hopefully promote a more restful sleep. Also, I think I just need to get to be earlier, period. I stayed up past midnight again, reading this Danielle Steel novel, and I am paying for it today. Goal tonight is to be in bed by 11!

Quick Question: Do you have difficulty falling asleep at night/waking up in the middle of the night? What are some remedies you use?

 

One Response to “False Alarm”

  1. Rebecca Lane August 30, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Melatonin. Also meat protein makes one sleepy, I recall. Verify that one!

Your turn to share!

