Where Did the Time Go?

28 Aug

Hey all! It’s almost bedtime again and I find myself wondering where my evening went. Work was fine, if uneventful, and I had a pretty uninspired lunch, where I didn’t finish my quinoa again. I think this probably means that I need to take a break from quinoa.

I found myself reaching for the peach and trail mix, rather than the carrots and quinoa. I must be on some kind of sugar kick, which was definitely satisfied when I walked into the kitchen to get some tea and found a box of fresh saltwater taffy from Maine sitting on the table, with a sign asking to be shared.

I’ll let you in on a little secret…I ended up eating about ten more of those. So much for preaching moderation – sorry guys. Do as I say, not as I do this time.

After work, it was time to get my Zumba on, which I totally did. The instructor had some crazy cardio in store for us and I was a sweaty mess by the end of it.

When I got home, I was ready for something quick and easy. I had been thinking about eggs and cheese for awhile, so decided to make an egg wrap, with some sliced chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s mixed in with the eggs and cheese. I sliced some avocado on the top before wrapping it all up.

Inside the wrap:

  • 2 scrambled eggs
  • 1 sliced chicken sausage (sundried tomato and basil)
  • grated cheddar and mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 sliced avocado

Oh. My. Goodness. Talk about hitting the spot, I could have eaten three of these and enjoyed every single bite. It took all of ten minutes to make, too. Really fast and satisfying dinner. Then the sweet tooth made another appearance, so I noshed on some oatmeal cookies my roommate had left for me. I may have gone a little overboard on the sweets today, but my inner Bruce Bogtrotter is happy (Matilda reference, anyone?).

While making and eating dinner, I was on the phone with mom and we covered all sorts of different topics. As we chatted, I cleaned up the dishes from dinner and then tidied up the kitchen. Before I knew it, we had been on the phone for two and a half hours and it was ten o’clock! Where did the time go? I do love conversations that go from topic to topic and you find yourself talking the night away. It’s always nice to talk to my mommy, too!

After a brief chat with Stefano (who is busy with work, as usual), I am ready to pop in the shower and get to bed. Tomorrow is Wednesday, which means it is mid-week! Which is why the Germans call it mittwoch (say it aloud, sound familiar?). So logical, those Germans.

Okay, time to call it quits for the night. Hope everybody had a really enjoyable evening.ย  Shout-out to the readers from the Phillipines, Italy, India, and, of course, the United States today! Thanks for dropping by, everybody ๐Ÿ™‚

 

One Response to “Where Did the Time Go?”

  1. Rebecca Lane August 29, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Try polenta for a grain break from quinoa. Not as much protein, but if you get it organic, it’s an awesome base for all kinds of goodness.

Your turn to share!

