Back to School

28 Aug

Hello, beautiful people. It is a grey, wet day over in my corner of the world and all I wanted to do when my alarm went off this morning was roll over and go back to sleep. Alas, I had to get up and greet the day. I have to be at work at nine, which usually means leaving for the bus at eight (I know, it’s a long commute, but I live in DC!). I had been setting my alarm at seven for the past couple of weeks and found myself rushing to get myself out the door. I am a slow starter in the morning and I was taking a little too much time to get ready, which resulted in a mad dash for the bus stop every morning. This week, I’ve been getting up at six thirty, which makes the initial start a little more painful, but allows me to take my sweet time getting ready for the day.

For some reason, I was really not feeling breakfast this morning. This happens on occasion, but I often force myself to eat a little something, just to get my metabolism going for the day. Today it was peanut butter and strawberry jam on an English muffin, topped with a sprinkle of chia seeds. On the side, I munched on some Pink Lady apple slices.

Luckily, it stopped raining before I had to leave for the bus and I risked it by not bringing an umbrella (something I’m sure to regret later today). I was a bit early to the bus today, but it ended up taking twice as long as usual to get to work because summer is over and the kids are back to school. I’m early enough on the bus line that there’s usually a seat available when I get on the bus, but not today. When I stepped on, I was greeted by a mob of kids, talking and playing music on their phones. Excuse me, youngin’s, but it’s eight in the morning and nobody should be making this much noise at that time of day. By the way guys, it turns out I’m actually a crabby old lady disguised as a 22 year-old woman…surprise!

It ended up being a long ride downtown because we stopped at each and every stop to drop off and pick up passengers…what do people think this is, public transportation??? Oh wait…

I have been lucky to enjoy a relatively easy commute over the summer, but if it’s going to be like this on a regular basis, I may have to invest in a bike – something I had been thinking about, anyway. Unfortunately, I know next to nothing about bikes, aside from the fact that they need two wheels and handlebars. Does anyone have any suggestions for an affordable bike to take to work (2-3 miles each way)? I am welcome to any and all advice you might have about bikes.

Okay, it’s time to get to work and hope the sun comes out in time for lunch! Wishing you all a happy morning!

Quick Question: How did you usually get to school as a child? I almost always took the school bus, except for the rare occasion when I was able to walk, and then drive, when I got to high school.

Your turn to share!

