Manic Monday

27 Aug

Holy cow, guys, how is it already 11:30??? I feel like I was go, go, go the whole day. Even breakfast was a quickie, with some Greek yogurt, topped with Kashi Go Lean and fresh fruit. I also sprinkled some chia seeds on the top.

When lunchtime rolled around, I kept going from one of my containers to the other, not really satisfied with anything I was eating. I started out with some quinoa with feta, tomato, and arugula.

About mid-way through my quinoa, I got bored and switched over to some carrots and hummus.

The whole time I was eating, I was craving something sweet, so luckily I had popped some trail mix into my lunchbox. I made it yesterday, with the Costco walnuts and almonds I had, plus a package of raisins I bought at Trader Joe’s over the weekend.

All that was missing were some M&Ms for some color and sweetness!

The rest of the day was busy going through the list of tasks my boss had left me while he’s out of town. Then it was time for Body Pump! My arms were feeling really good today, but I feel like I was struggling the whole way through squats and lunges. Maybe I should up the weight on my arms? It’s nice finishing a set without feeling like your muscles are about to peel away from your body, though. I will let you guys know what I end up doing after my next Body Pump class on Wednesday.

As soon as I got home, it was time to prep for dinner. My roommate is leaving for Sweden for a couple of weeks and I wanted to make him a goodbye dinner. I had some frozen chicken breasts and the big Tupperware of pesto from the weekend, just waiting to be used. I decided to improvise, so I chopped up the frozen chicken and put it in a saute pan where some garlic had been roasting in some hot olive oil.

Am I the only one who thinks chicken looks really strange when it’s raw?

After the chicken had been cooking for awhile and was almost done, I added the pesto, in a frozen chunk, to the pan and stirred it around to mix it. As it melted, it created a really nice, light coating for the chicken.

Meanwhile, my roommate had popped some rice into the rice maker and made a nice side salad for us to eat while we were waiting for the rice to cook. Salads are just so much better with avocado!

When the rice was finally ready, we were so ready to eat. Here it is in all its pesto-y goodness:

I usually associate pesto with a pasta topping, but the nice thing about it is its versatility. Pesto can be used as a marinade, a sauce, a spread, or a topping and its delicious every time.

Well, ladies and gents, it is sufficiently late and I need to get my butt to bed! Hope you had a great start to your week, have a wonderful night!

5 Responses to “Manic Monday”

  1. Katherine August 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Your food looks so tasty! Great pictures!

    • shefny August 28, 2012 at 12:41 am #

      Thank you, Katherine! I love your post on Mio, I have been thinking about trying it for awhile now, but I’ve never read an explanation about it until now.

      • Katherine August 28, 2012 at 12:43 am #

        I’m glad you enjoyed it! I have only tried a few flavors, because I only use a small squirt and they last forever. But I am totally addicted now!

      • shefny August 28, 2012 at 12:44 am #

        It seems like a really good substitute for soda cravings. I will let you know when I give it a try 🙂

      • Katherine August 28, 2012 at 12:46 am #

        Ever since I eliminated soda, my belly physically can not handle it!

Your turn to share!

