Breakfast of Champions

27 Aug

Good morning, sunshine(s)! It is the start of another week and we have a wonderful, three-day weekend to look forward to at the end. I am going to be antsy for the weekend all week, because Stef and I are going on our first out-of-town trip since moving to the District. Not only that, but it’s to Virginia Beach for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon! He will be running the half and I am sticking with the 5K…baby steps, people, baby steps.

I promised you guys details of our amazing Sunday breakfast, so without further ado, I present to you…

Breakfast of champions. Seriously, homemade French toast cannot be beat. French toast is always something I order when I go out to breakfast because I never seem to make it myself. WHAT HAVE I BEEN THINKING?! This is seriously easy. I am about to fill you in on the secret to amazing, super simple French toast. It doesn’t involve any fancy ingredients or special preparation: the secret is in the bread. Namely, the challah bread. If you use challah for your French toast, I don’t see how you can fail.

Here is a very basic, simple recipe for French toast, that will give you a moist, fluffy French toast that you can top with a variety of toppings to make it your own. Are you ready for this?

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk (soy/almond/rice will be fine if you don’t use regular)
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon (you can even add a pinch of nutmeg if you’re feeling adventurous)
  • butter

That’s it. If you run out of mixture (like we usually do), just use those proportions to make as much or as little as you need. Beat the eggs, milk, and cinnamon and get your pan on medium heat. Slice up the challah about 3/4″ thick and soak in the egg batter for a minute or two (challah is thick, so it soaks up quite a bit of liquid).

Stef soaking the delicious challah

Add a pat of butter to the pan and wait for it to stop foaming, then add your slices of bread. Cook on each side for 1-2 minutes, then eat immediately, or put on a plate and place in the oven to keep them warm.

After you’ve made as much as you think you’re going to eat, get your toppings going. I love to have lots of different toppings, so I put some some fresh blueberries, sliced strawberries, crushed walnuts, raisins, peanut butter, Trader Joe’s maple syrup,  and some Greek yogurt.

We used a whole load of challah bread, which used double the mixture I posted above, but we had my roommate help eat it, so don’t be shocked when I tell you that the plate you see in that picture? Totally empty by the time we were done. Whoo, baby. My first two slices were in the picture at the top, with maple syrup, fresh blueberries, strawberries, and a sprinkle of walnuts and raisins. I decided to have one more slices and spread some peanut butter on the top, before topping it with walnuts and raisins.

Holy yum, guys. French toast that is this easy to make shouldn’t be allowed to taste so good.

Stef is always camera-ready.

Just like the pesto I told you about yesterday, this recipe is super fast and is simple enough that you should be able to make homemade French toast whenever you crave it. Especially on lazy Sunday mornings.

Your turn to share!

