Subbing

23 Aug

Guten morgen! We had a lady from the German embassy stop by the office this morning and I got to hear her speaking German, which I adore. One of the attorneys at my office is German and gave me a flyer on language courses at the Goethe Institute. I would really love to take some German classes, but funds are minimal after my big move over here and the course is $450 – yikes. That’s actually a reasonable cost for a language class, but it’s also half my rent, which takes first priority at the moment.

Breakfast this morning was a good, old-fashioned bowl of cereal: Kashi Go Lean, mixed with some raw oats and a sprinkle of chia seeds. I’m slowly coming onto the chia seeds and it’s easy to just stick some in most of my meals without noticing they’re there. Today they added a nice crunch to my cereal.

I am pretty excited for my workout after work today – instead of my usual Zumba class on Thursdays, I am playing in a volleyball game for a team that needs a sub! After the open gyms at George Washington University ended, I was worried about when I would next get to play. One of the members on the team I’ll be playing with is also the guy who divides up the free agents (all the individual players without teams) among teams in the recreational league I signed up for, which starts at the end of September. I unknowingly registered for a league that wasn’t quite as advanced as I am, so he’s going to check out my playing tonight and determine which level of competition I should be in.

After I get back from the game (which starts at 6:45 and hopefully won’t run too late!), I am having a house dinner with my roommates, because one of them is leaving for vacation in Sweden on Sunday! We will probably keep it simple with dinner and a movie, but that really is my idea of a good time.  I am envious of everybody getting to go to Europe this summer! I miss Rome so much and still can’t believe I left two months ago.

Speaking of international travel, I want to give a shout out to my international readers! Yesterday, I had readers from the Philippines, Spain, Indonesia, Italy, and Canada! Hello, global readers, thanks for dropping by! I love my American readers too, of course, but it’s amazing to think that somebody all the way around the world is reading my baby blog, which will be seven weeks old tomorrow!

Quick Question: Have you ever been to Europe? What is the most interesting place you have ever visited?

 

One Response to “Subbing”

  1. Rebecca :) August 23, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Germany, The Netherlands & France; in 1973! I loved the Rhine river trip… it was our high school choir that went to Europe, and we got up at dawn to serenade the Lorelei rock with the Lorelei song. Corny but awesome too.

    We sang Bach in the Great Cathedral in Cologne, Germany. THAT was amazing… the reverb in the building means we had to slow the music waaay down, and I heard Bach really well for the first time. Still gives me chills to remember that sound.

Your turn to share!

