Breakfast for Dinner

22 Aug

We’re more than halfway done with the week, whoohoo! I am excited for the weekend because Stef and I are going to the Jason Mraz concert on Friday at the Merriweather Post Pavilion in Maryland! I adore Jason Mraz and we saw him in concert a few years ago where he was absolutely amazing, so I am excited to see him again.

The rest of my day shaped up pretty nicely! I had been craving greens in the past few days, since my lunches and dinners have been a little carb-heavy, so I had a nice big arugula salad with cucumber and pieces of chicken. I also had a small container of almonds and two slices of the amazing rosemary bread my roommate made, with a little bit of butter.

I had lunch in the park with my co-worker, Ashley. The weather has been pretty off and on lately, but during lunch it was sunny and pleasant. Back at the office, my boss left for his conference and I set about getting things together for his next conference, which he leaves for on Sunday. Midway through the afternoon, I got a craving for my office snack basket and grabbed some trail mix to take the edge off. A few pretzels might have made their way in there, as well.

I had a really great Body Pump session at the gym today. At the end of the workout, during stretching, we were in cobra pose and our instructor said that anyone who could go into full cobra and touch their head with their feet was exempt from push-ups forever. I decided to see if I could do it and I could hear him saying, “Oh, she’s going for it” and I ended up being able to do it! I was a little impressed with my own flexibility, as I haven’t been to yoga in really, really long time. That must prove how much I really despise push-ups. So I am now exempt from push-ups at Body Pump, though I will probably continue doing them because, well, they give you Michelle Obama arms and who doesn’t want those?

I was good and hungry when I came home and was craving some protein. I scoped out the fridge and decided it was going to be breakfast for dinner. I scrambled some eggs and mixed them up with some frozen veggies and this yummy chicken sausage I picked up last time I was at Trader Joe’s.

After the eggs were cooked and everything was heated through, I topped it all off with some crumbled feta for some nice saltiness.

Super tasty and filled with lots of protein, between the eggs and the sausage and cheese. I read an interesting article about eggs the other day, about a Canadian study that was done and compared the detrimental health effects of eggs to smoking. I’m pretty skeptical about the results, and the study seems to be under fire from other scientists, but the article is worth a read.

While I was eating dinner, my dad called me! He has been in Egypt for the last month and I haven’t been in much contact with him, so it was nice to catch up. After a long (over an hour and a half!) chat, we are caught up to the present day, where I am typing up this post and listening to The Angels’ ‘My Boyfriend’s Back’ on the Bubblegum Oldies Pandora station. Simple pleasures.

I hope everybody else had an equally pleasant evening and has a good night! I am pretty wiped from Body Pump, so I know that I will be sleeping soundly tonight. Catch ya on the flip side!

One Response to “Breakfast for Dinner”

  1. Rebecca :) August 23, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Ooo! Bubblegum oldies… good to know! Will be queueing that one up!

Your turn to share!

