Grazing

21 Aug

It’s almost Hump Day! Way to power through Monday and Tuesday, everybody. I had a busy, busy day at work, including editing a 120-something page paper. I managed to fit in a yummy lunch though, which included indulging in a craving that I’ve been having for agesss.

In that picture you will notice my container of leftover quinoa, steamed broccoli, and grilled chicken from dinner last night. Alongside is a small Tupperware of sliced cucumbers and hummus. On the left, my friends, is the piece de resistance – a vanilla milkshake from Shake Shack. I had been craving a milkshake for quite some time now and I decided that today was going to be the day that I indulged. So worth it.

The was really my big meal of the day and during the afternoon, I turned into a total grazer. First it was the rest of my Trader Joe’s Corn Puffs.

Then it was a bag of Planter’s trail mix, that I munched on while slogging through unruly footnotes.

I took a break from grazing to go to a Zumba class, where I had lots of fun working up a sweat and improvising dance moves to KC and the Sunshine Band’s  ‘Get Down Tonight’. When I got home, it was back to the scavenging for food, mainly partaking in this:

Hello, beautiful.

Rosemary bread in the houuuuuse. My first slice looked like this:

Butter with a sprinkle of rosemary

So did my second and third. Needless to say, I wasn’t going to be making dinner tonight. Since I have begun the routine of work and then the gym, I have been in a pretty routine meal schedule, but I am naturally a grazer and prefer to eat lots of tidbits throughout the day than sit and eat big meals that are hours apart. Most of that behavior comes out on the weekend, when I have the time and freedom to snack throughout the day, but once in awhile I will have enough snacks to power me through the afternoon so I’m not hungry for a huge dinner.

I’m almost done with the book I’ve been reading, so I think I’m going to finish that up and then hit the hay. I got to talk with Stef for half an hour today, on his car ride home from work at EIGHT THIRTY AT NIGHT. He had been at school since 7:30 AM…talk about some long hours. Poor guy didn’t even get to have lunch until three o’clock. I’m trying to think of ways to help him prepare food so he gets all his meals in – he is like me and gets pretty irritable if he is too hungry.

Hope everybody out in the blogosphere had a nice evening. It’s getting to be those last few weeks of summer, enjoy it while it lasts!

Quick Question(s): Do you prefer to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner or do you like to snack throughout the day? Is there one meal you never skip? When you have a busy day, how do you make sure that you get something to eat on the go?

Your turn to share!

