Foodie Pen Pals

12 Aug

Good evening! It is the last day of the Olympics, which makes me sad because I really haven’t been able to watch as much of it as I’d like. I am super pumped for the closing ceremonies though because the SPICE GIRLS are performing! What’s up, 90s flashback? Pretty sure I’m going to be singing and dancing to everything they do.

I’m going to spend the rest of the evening watching the ceremonies and also prepping some food for lunches for the week. Most of the food I have right now has a distinctly Mediterranean feel to it (read: I bought massive packages of feta and fresh mozzarella at Costco last weekend) so expect pitas, wraps, etc. with lots of those flavors.

The shopping trip for Stefano and his classroom was fairly successful and we’ll see how things go this week after he’s got it all set up. Middle school is an awkward age, just because the kids are really transitioning from being kids to being young adults and wanted to be treated like adults. I remember how cool I thought I was when I was in middle school…sorry, Mom.

To give us some energy for the shopping trip, I made us some lunch in the form of lavash wraps with all sorts of goodies inside.

On each half of the lavash, I spread some tzatziki sauce and hummus, then added sliced cucumbers and tomatoes, with a sprinkle of feta cheese. On the other half is a bed of arugula, some turkey slices and a few pieces of sliced avocado, with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. Stef and I discussed the various kinds of balsamic vinegar we have tried in the States and concluded that the Costco balsamic from Kirkland Signature just can’t be beat. It’s got a great sweetness that pairs well with the acidity of the vinegar.

On the side, I added some sliced peaches which were looking pretty depressed and probably on their last legs, so I put them out of their misery. I love anthropomorphizing food.

After lunch, it was time to shop! We stopped by Staples and scoured the sales, which helped us great some really good deals. We found a couple of plastic filing bins for Stef to keep all of his papers for only $6 each! Success. Walking around Staples looking for school supplies reminding me of going shopping for back to school stuff when I was younger. I remember loving the Mr. Sketch smelly markers – they smelled good enough to eat!

Speaking of eating (and I usually am), school shopping (like all shopping for me, really) totally depleted me of any energy I had, so I made the executive decision to grab some frozen yogurt on the way back. Stef was amenable to the decision, as he is to most decisions regarding the consumption of food, so we headed over to the local shop. It’s self serve, which I love, and has so many toppings! I would make it a goal to try all the flavors, but I am a creature of habit and almost always buy the same thing, so it would really take awhile to get through them all.

I went for strawberry and mango with shredded coconut and sliced almonds on top, while Stef chose strawberry and coconut with coconut shreds. After this picture was taken, I proceeded to drench my cup with caramel syrup and then inhale it, so I didn’t get a post-caramel picture.

Stef was pretty pleased with his selection – he finished his, then tried to steal mine. Luckily, this is a frequent occurrence and so I’m usually prepared to defend my territory. I did give him a bite, because I love him.

After Stef went on his merry way to write lesson plans, I went shopping again. This time, the occasion was much more fun because I was shopping for food, specifically for my foodie pen pal. This is my first month participating in the program, which is much like a pen pal program except it involves food, which makes it 12038080498509 times better. After you sign up, you get a pen pal assignment to whom you send a package with yummy local foods, gourmet treats, or homemade yummies (there’s a $15 limit). You also receive a similar package (not from the same person, however) and it is just a great way to try new things, get recipe ideas from new people, and just connect with other foodies around the country. If you are interested in participating, you may click the ‘join’ button on the right side of my page!

I can’t tell you what I bought until the end of the month when we do the reveal, but I did receive a package from my foodie pen pal the other day and I was so excited! I love getting mail in general, but it’s even more fabulous when there are yummy treats inside.

All right, lovelies – it is time for me to get prepping for next week and watch some Spice Girls! Hope you all have a wonderful Sunday evening.

Your turn to share!

