Back to School

12 Aug

Good morning, darlings! Happy Sunday! It is a beautiful day in the neighborhood and I can’t wait to get outside. For now, I’m inside doing house-y things like organizing my room and doing laundry…less than spectacular.

Brief recap of Friday night and Saturday:

I had an epic feast for lunch on Friday: a peach, small container of almonds, 2 pita pockets filled with turkey, tomato, and cucumber; and pita chips with a tub of guacamole for dipping. I was so full for the rest of the day!

After work on Friday, I went over to Stefano’s apartment and we took a quick dip in the pool, before spending the rest of the night watching the Olympics.

Saturday morning, Stef had to work (work on a Saturday? Criminal.) so we woke pretty early and when our separate ways. I went to the gym for a great class called Muscle Up, which is a mixture of weights and aerobics, so it’s a really good cardio and strength workout. I always feel so good after a morning workout, the rest of the day just feels better. I am really going to try to work out some mornings this week.

I stopped by the grocery store on the way back to pick up something for lunch. The store was doing a special for $4.99 footlong subs, so I headed in the direction of the deli. I was distracted on the way, though…

Samples!!! I love a store with free samples. This particular stand was rosemary sourdough bread with butter, aka my kryptonite. Is there anything better than bread and butter??? After helping myself to a million a couple of slices, I continued on my way, until I was distracted yet again.

Free cake. Seriously?! I didn’t even need to get lunch at this point…but I did anyway.

I decided to go with a roast beef sub on whole wheat bread, with all the fixings (except for jalapenos because I have ZERO spice tolerance). I also swung by and picked up a really delicious Cripp apple.

I only ate half of the sub to begin with, but I went back a couple of hours later and finished off the other half. Sandwiches are the best – you can put basically anything between two slices of bread and it will be delicious.

After spending all day watching the Olympics, Stef came home from work and we took a little swim. It was pretty cloudy all day and it wasn’t the warmest outside, so I didn’t spend too much time in there. I’m a pretty horrible swimmer, but now that I have easy access to a pool, I am hoping to improve.

Today is going to be spent running errands and preparing for next week, especially since I really didn’t do much of that last weekend. Stefano needs to go to the “teacher store” (no idea what that’s supposed to be) to pick up supplies to decorate his classroom this week, so I’m going to help him out. Neither of us are the most creative, but I figure that two heads are better than one! Then I will probably watch the closing ceremony of the Olympics!

Quick question: Do any of you have ideas for a good classroom theme for Stef’s classroom? He teaches 8th grade science.

One Response to “Back to School”

  1. Rebecca Lane August 12, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    For Stef… Any themes related to current sci fi… I hear there is a high school text that explores the technologies of Star Trek! Something more current might work… What futuristic movies a hot these days?

Your turn to share!

