Pack Horse

8 Aug

Good evening, lovelies. Man, it is late over here. I left my house over 15 hours ago! Busy, busy.

Work went well today, I got to have lunch with one of my co-workers who I really enjoy talking to. We had lunch at Dupont Circle, which is essentially a large traffic circle, but is big enough to be a small park with benches and fountains.

Today’s lunch was the last batch of quinoa and veggies, with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

And on the side, I had my ever-present strawberries and carrots, along with a package of Planter’s Nuts and Chocolate trail mix. Tomorrow’s lunch will be different, I swear!

While I munched on my lunch, Ashley looked over a Supreme Court case that she was writing an op-ed piece on.

Studious Ashley

I worked a little later than usual tonight, but still had plenty of time to get to the GWU gym where the volleyball open gym was taking place. On the stroll over, I munched on another Kashi trail mix bar that I nicked from the office stash (this must end!).

I arrived at the gym a few minutes early, so I caught up with Stefano on the phone. He got into a fender-bender earlier in the day (his first accident ever!) when a guy rear-ended him as he was stopped at a light, waiting to turn (he’s fine, don’t worry!). The drivers in this city are absolutely ridiculous, but that’s a blog post for another day. By seven, it was time to volley!

There weren’t as many people there today and winner stayed on for the advanced court. My team won all of our matches, so I fit in two hours of straight volleyball – it was fabulous!!! Speaking of volleyball, did anyone catch the beach volleyball match at the Olympics today??? Let it be known that Misty May Trainor and Kerri Walsh are absolute legends.

After volleyball, I really wanted to stop by Trader Joe’s, since I was in the neighborhood of the only TJ’s in town (criminal, I know). I was a little hesitant because I was already carrying my workout bag, my purse, and my lunchbox, but TJ’s won in the end.

The TJ beacon

I tried to limit myself this time around, since I had to carry it all on the metro with me and I was already loaded down with stuff, but I always get carried away when I’m here. The cost of living is so high in Washington and Trader Joe’s is the only place I’ve found with grocery prices comparable to Seattle. It’s a little out of the way for me, so I always try to stock up whenever I’m there (which has been twice since moving here in July). Here’s a little peek into my basket…

Don’t mind the huge bag of white cheddar corn puffs, just focus on the eggs, peaches, zucchini, and other healthy goodies ๐Ÿ˜‰

The trip home was definitely a slog, but luckily I had my mom on the phone to keep me company. I made a half-hearted attempt at photographing myself looking like a pack horse.

Lunchbox, one bag of groceries, and keys in the right hand. Big bag of groceries slung over right shoulder. Workout bag and purse (with phone inside) slung over left shoulder. It’s official: I’m a bag lady.

Finally made it home and stuffed my faceย munched on a few corn puffs before getting my clothes all ready for tomorrow. The alarm is set for 6 AM so I can get to a Body Pump class at 7…yikes. We’ll see if I actually end up getting there. It’s almost midnight here so it’s off to bed for me – hope you all have a wonderful night!

Your turn to share!

