Egg McMuffins at Home

7 Aug

Good morning!

Thank you guys so much for being patient while I try to put my life together! My room is starting to look like somebody actually lives in it, which is always a good sign. After working out last night (Body Pump – best class ever!), I stopped by Target to pick up some more coat hangers and other house-y things. By the time I got home, it was after 8 and I had no idea what to make for dinner. I was really craving carbs, which is really no surprise because I always crave carbs. I saw some pepperoni slices in the fridge and was inspired to make a lavash pizza.

On a piece of lavash flat bread, I put some tomato sauce, pepperoni slices, and chunks of fresh mozzarella cheese and then stuck it in the toaster oven so the bread got crispy and the cheese was nice and melted. After devouring that in about 2.5 seconds, I decided I was still hungry, so I made myself an English muffin with peanut butter, a little bit of agave nectar, and a sprinkle of chia seeds.

I feel like everybody in the healthy living blogosphere has been going on and on about how wonderful chia seeds are. I hop onto every bandwagon, at least to try things out, so of course I bought some at the vitamin shop near my house and busted open the bag. The verdict? Honestly, I could have done without them on my muffin, but I will try them in various things and let you know if my opinion changes. If anybody reading is a big fan of chia seeds and has some ideas about how to use them, drop me a line! Apparently, they are rich in omega-3 fatty acids and are an excellent source of protein and fiber (thanks, Wikipedia).

While I munched on my English muffin, I decided to prep breakfast for the next few days as well. I saw this recipe for breakfast muffins a few weeks back and pinned it on Pinterest, so I decided to give it a go. I went to Costco over the weekend and bought an 18-pack of English muffins, so I am using them for basically everything I can think of.

This recipe is SUPER easy.

Step 1: Crack eggs into muffin tin (you can fill up the muffin tin if you’re feeling ambitious, but I only had 3 eggs).

I broke one yolk…whoops!

Step 2: Cut English muffins and put on tray (or in the empty muffin spaces, if you’re lazy like me).

Step 3: Baked at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. You may need to take out the muffins partway through the baking or they’ll get too toasty.

Step 4: Assemble muffin.

So I made three of them and I was not planning on eating them immediately. If you wanted to eat them right away, I would recommend putting the cheese on the muffin and stick them in the oven while the eggs are cooking. If you’re saving them for later, I would put the cheese on and then wrap them up and either freeze or refrigerate. I only have three and I will eat them in the next couple of days so I just wrapped them up in aluminum foil and stuck them in the fridge.

This morning, I just pulled one of the sandwiches out and stuck them in the toaster oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese and re-toast the English muffin. Once the cheese had melted, I spooned a little bit of pico de gallo on. Feel free to top it with anything you’d like, switch up cheeses, etc.

Hello, lovely.

It was an absolutely delicious start to the day and so, so easy. Highly recommended for people who are crunched for time in the mornings. I am working out tomorrow morning, so I might just bring a sandwich with me and then heat it up when I get into work.

Hope you all are having a great start to the morning, catch up with you later!

Your turn to share!

