Mattress Mishaps

29 Jul

Good morning, wonderful people!

I had a wonderful day yesterday, but it was a total whirlwind! To recap…

Breakfast

So breakfast was a bit of a miss. Stefano is down for the weekend and I was so busy helping him make his breakfast, that I neglected to watch my own (a bowl of oatmeal in the microwave). As a result, this happened:

Whoops. Of course, I wiped up as much as I could and then carried on eating, but it was not pretty. Better luck this morning, I hope.

Mattress Shopping

Yesterday was all about mattress shopping and other related things. Stef and I went to the mattress store and had a pretty good time testing out all the different beds.

He may or may not have gotten a little too comfortable on one of them. Both of us were in the market for new beds and we found a great deal that included the mattress, box spring, and bed frame because the mattress was being discontinued for it’s “new generation”.

Hello, Sealy.

We had them delivered to my house (as Stef can’t load his things up to his apartment just yet) and I was eager to get the bed to my room! As the delivery people reached the stairs, it was clear that the box spring was going to pose a very big problem. Because of the sharp corner on the staircase and the height of the ceiling, there was no way that box spring was getting up to my room, unless we broke the box spring or the stairwell. Sigh. So today, I am going back to the mattress store to try to deal with returning the box spring.

Lunch

After we went to the mattress store, we met up with Stef’s parents for lunch. I was so, so hungry and we decided to pick something fast and easy. I had been meaning to try this new restaurant that opened, called Cava.

It is basically a Mediterranean/Middle Eastern version of Chipotle – where you can choose a pita or rice bowl and then add meat like chicken, meatballs, or lamb and cover with toppings that include tzatziki sauce, hummus, eggplant and red pepper, etc. I decided on the pita wrap, with kofta (herbed meatballs) and topped it with loads of things: tzatziki, hummus, eggplant, cucumber and tomato salad, feta, kalamata olives, and other goodies.

It was delicious and I was hungry, so I devoured it in about 4.5 seconds. So good. I would definitely go back – these flavors are right up my alley. Stefano chose the rice bowl and ordered a slice of pita on the side.

After lunch, we went down to Stefano’s apartment so he and his roommates could sign their lease. They had a bunch of freshly baked, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies right on the table, so I ended up eating almost half a dozen of those before I made myself leave the room. Dangerous territory. We are going back today so we can get his keys and then he will no longer be homeless!

Dinner

After lots of moving and driving around the city, we were so ready for dinner. Stef’s parents took us out to Red Rocks Pizzeria, which is where I went with Amanda when she came down to visit from Maryland. We ordered a caprese salad to split and then chose four different pizzas to try between us. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures during the dinner because we were all ravenous and I was too caught up in conversation to remember to be a blogger. Amateur move.

After dinner, it was off to bed. Stef and I had a late night when we waited for his parents to get to the city, and then woke up early the next morning, so we were exhausted and so ready to sleep.

I am off to tackle some mattress issues and then go car hunting for Stefano, so it will be another long, busy day! Hope you all enjoy your Sunday!

Quick Question: What kind of mattress do your prefer? Firm, soft, memory foam? Maybe even a waterbed?
Your turn to share!

