Empty Telephone Boxes

25 Jul

Good evening!

I had a long day today, but it was fabulous! I had another day of training at work and my boss took the outgoing assistant editor and me out to lunch – Thai food! I had Thai food on Saturday with Stefano, but I’m never one to turn down some pad see ew, which is what I ordered again.

It was really yummy – I seriously can’t get enough of those wide rice noodles. One day I will make my own so there’s not so much sodium and whatever else they add in. Plus then I can add more veggies…I think I only got like, six pieces of broccoli. My boss ordered their lunch special which came on a super cute tray that reminded me of a Japanese bento box.

Sorry for the dark picture, I was trying to be sneaky.

My co-worker ordered the pad thai with chicken and it looked really good, though he avoided all the vegetables – why do people not like veggies?!?! I would have gladly eaten his, but I think it would have been weird if I had asked…

After work, I had a little bit of time before the volleyball open gym so I went to change my clothes and then had a nice chat with my mommy! On the way to the gym, I stopped by the drugstore so I could grab a quick snack because I knew I wouldn’t be home until almost ten and I had lunch at noon. Unfortunately, they didn’t have any fresh fruit or veggies, which bummed me out, but I did find some trail mix and pretzels!

The trail mix was the ‘tropical blend’ so it had coconut shavings and pieces of mango in it…mmm. I haven’t had pretzels in FOREVER. One thing I forgot was how dry they make your mouth feel, I must have guzzled a liter of water after eating them. The walk over to the gym was so pleasant; Washington was having one of its not-so-humid days, and for that I am grateful. I passed by a beautiful little garden, filled with flowers of differing shades of purple.

Aren’t they just beautiful? Purple is my favorite color and all these shades are so lovely! I also passed an English-style telephone box! …With no phone inside?

I peeked in and looked all over, but there was no phone to be there. I am sure there is a story behind this – anyone know what it is? It’s the telephone box in Foggy Bottom, near the GWU campus.

When I got to the gym, it was two hours of pure volleyball – my favorite. There were fewer people at this open gym, which was great because it meant that we were always on the court and didn’t have to spend a lot of time sitting out. The highlight of my evening was blocking this huge guy hitting against me. For those of you who have ever played on a men’s net, you can appreciate how high someone my height (5’9″) needs to jump to get her hands far enough over the net to block. Any volleyball player will tell you that stuffing someone is the best feeling. I was riding that high for the rest of the evening!

When I got home, I thanked myself for preparing a big batch of pasta yesterday, as it was almost ten when I got home. All I had to do was pop some in a bowl and stick it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. Love me some carbs!

Now it’s bedtime! It’s amazing how quickly the day goes when you work from 9-5… I hope you all had a wonderful day and I will catch you in the morning!

Your turn to share!

