Lentil Chips

24 Jul

Good evening!

I hope everybody had a great day and a relaxing evening. I just got back from some Zumba, followed by some boxing and have a belly full of pasta, so I’m in great spirits.

I finally got to the grocery store today! My lunch was a little pathetic, but it was still tasty – I used the last of my lettuce, along with the last few slices of fresh mozzarella to make a nice little salad. Topped with some balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and toasted sesame seed and paired with a side of hummus and carrots, it served me well!

Before I got to the grocery store, I stopped by Marshalls and noticed a shelf of clearance “gourmet foods”, so of course I had to take a peek. There was some agave nectar that I scored for $2.99 (whoo!) and a variety of other gourmet items, like tapenade and imported pasta. One thing did catch my eye…

I was curious to see how one turns a lentil into a chip, so I had to check them out. They actually turned out to be pretty good! If any of you have ever had PoP! chips, they tasted like those. I don’t think they’re a health food by any stretch of the imagination, but they are a good alternative if you are craving chips (a better alternative still would be apple chips!).

Then I went down to the gym and went to a Zumba class, which isn’t as cardio-intense as the one I usually go to, but is still really fun. I stuck around for another boxing class, which I am enjoying, but I am finding myself standing around a lot during the class, which makes me antsy and feel like I’m not getting in a good workout. I did see an old classmate from high school, though! Washington is such a small city, I feel like everybody has two degrees of separation from everybody else.

I was pretty famished after I got back, so devoured the remainder of the lentil chips and then made dinner. I am going to busy in the next couple of days with work and moving, so I wanted to make a big batch of something and then store it in a Tupperware. I had a box of whole wheat, penne pasta and some jars of tomato sauce hanging out, so I decided to whip up some pasta. In a pan I sauteed some garlic and onion in olive oil and then added the tomatoes and tomato sauce and plenty of dry basil. While that was simmering, I cooked the pasta and tossed in a bag of frozen veggies just a few minutes before the pasta was ready. After draining the pasta and veggies, I returned them to the pot and added in the sauce. It looked SO ready to eat!

I immediately served up a bowl and put the rest in a big Tupperware container. I had just filled the Tupperware to the brim and was contemplating whether or not to put the remaining pasta in a second container when one of my housemates came home from a softball game. I offered him the remaining pasta and he selflessly agreed to take the offending pasta off of my hands. I love living with other people!

Anywho, I am off to shower and then bed, I have another day of training tomorrow! Hope you all have a great night, catch ya on the flip side!

Your turn to share!

