Gloomy Day

20 Jul

Good evening all,

It was a gloomy day in the neighborhood and all I wanted to do was lay in bed with a book and some hot cocoa, but I had places to go and people to see! For lunch though, I definitely went the hot route instead of my usual salad. I made a quick ‘n’ easy egg scramble with three whole eggs and a handful of frozen veggies. I had my ever-present carrots and hummus to go along with it, of course.

While I was at the stove, I decided make up a batch of quinoa to store in the fridge and save for later. At the risk of sounding like a hippie Seattleite, I cannot help but sing the praises of quinoa; not only is it a complete protein (and gluten-free!), it is loaded with fiber, phosphorous, magnesium, iron, and calcium. It is versatile and can be used in so many sweet and savory dishes – throw some in a salad for lunch or mix it with apples, cinnamon, and a touch of honey for a yummy dessert. So much greatness.

For those of you who are quinoa newbies, it is really easy to prepare. Put the quinoa in a sauce pan with water at a ratio of 2:1, water to quinoa. Bring it to a hard boil and then cover and let simmer for 15 minutes and voila! You have quinoa.

It keeps really well, so I like to make a big batch and just put in a tupperware and keep it in the fridge for whenever I need it.

After lunch, I left to head down to the gym for my second of three personal training sessions. It was only a half-hour long, but we did some good circuit work and I am getting some good ideas about how to mix things up when I’m working out on my own. Plus, my trainer is super fun and gives me all sorts of great recommendations for places to eat in the neighborhood  – always a plus in my book. After my PT session, I stuck around for happy hour yoga, which is 1 1/2 hours. Today I learned about the fascia in the body and that when people complain about a knot in their muscle, it’s actually this connective tissues that get bundled together (usually around an injury). You learn something new every day!

I was famished when I got back from the gym and decided to put the quinoa to good use for an easy to put together dinner. I threw some quinoa  in a bowl, along with some chopped tomatoes and green peppers, then sprinkled a few chunks of feta on top and drizzled the whole thing with some balsamic vinegar. I ate it cold, but I imagine it would also be scrumptious if you heated the quinoa up before you added in all the extra goodies. SO GOOD. I wolfed it down and contemplated seconds, but after I waited the requisite twenty minutes (the amount of time it supposedly takes for your brain to register a full stomach), I was actually quite satisfied. All the protein and fiber in the quinoa really fills you up (see? I can’t stop raving about the stuff!).

Yes, that is my floss and retainer case in the background. Practice good oral hygiene, people!

I am a really exciting person and have huge plans for Friday night – catching up on all the new blog posts on my blogroll and tucking into bed to read whatever’s up next on my Kindle. I know, I need to calm my wild self down. Also, if you all are so inclined, Stefano and I are in the online version of Glamour magazine! Once in awhile they do a cute couple match-up and, on a whim, I decided to enter our pictures and we got in! If you want to read our little blurb and try to match up the other couples, you can see it here.

If you all are reading this on a Friday night, you clearly have your priorities straight and we should probably be friends. If you are out on the town, you are way too cool for me. Kidding! Regardless of your plans, I hope you all have a wonderful night!

One Response to “Gloomy Day”

  1. Petrea Burchard July 21, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I spend my Friday nights the same way you do. That can’t be right.

Your turn to share!

