Apple Pie

19 Jul

Good morning, beautiful people!

The worst of the storm ended before I went to bed last night, so I didn’t have to worry about not being able to fall asleep amidst all the thunder and lightning. The good news is that it’s supposed to cool off over the weekend, so people will be able to get outdoors without feeling like their faces are melting off.

Was that too much exaggeration?

I had a revelation when I made breakfast today. Instead of my usual yogurt and berries with a bagel on the side, I decided to sprinkle some Honey Nut Cheerios on top of the Apple Cinnamon Chobani cup I had used. The apple cinnamon flavor combined with the crunchy sweetness of the Cheerios made it taste  like I was eating apple pie for breakfast! So delish. I considered making it a la mode, but I decided it wouldn’t be the best idea to eat ice cream at nine in the morning.

That’s not true. The reason I didn’t add ice cream was because I didn’t have any.

Even sans ice cream, it was super delicious.

Today I am off to visit a friend who is immobilized at home. How we met is an interesting story – do you guys remember when I went to volleyball the other day? I met Cassandra in the bathroom as I was getting my gear on and we introduced ourselves. We decided to warm up together and ended up playing on the same time. It was only about 15 minutes into play that she came down from hitting and crumpled to the ground. Having seen my fair share of volleyball injuries, I knew she must have injured her knee or ankle. When she laid down, you could see that her kneecap was not where it was supposed to be. After the medics took her to the hospital, she let me know the next morning that she tore some tendons and would probably have to go in for surgery – YIKES. So, because everyone else works and I’m such a generous person I have no life, I volunteered to keep her company today!

Later this evening I am headed to a graduate school fair at Johns Hopkins where some universities are presenting their international affairs graduate programs and prospective applicants will have the opportunity to ask questions and get more information from the representatives about these programs:

Columbia University – School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA)
Georgetown University – Edmund A Walsh School of Foreign Service
Johns Hopkins University – The Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)
Tufts University – The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy

I am really looking forward to hearing more about these programs because I am still deciding between law school and graduate school and these are programs that I would definitely consider attending if I were to choose graduate school. I will be sure to let you know my thoughts when I get back tonight!

Hope you all have a wonderful day – only one day to go until Friday!

One Response to “Apple Pie”

  1. P & S July 19, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    You’re certainly in the right place to tap into four schools at once.Law school or grad school…hmmm,Sandy, of course is biased on that choice! Your inside look at an international practice will help w/ that decision. I’m planning on putting your sundress together today…sounds like DC has sundress weather. It’s 65 right now, overcast and may get up to 75 w/ showers today. We spend a lot of evenings on the deck…no bears so far this summer! W/ Zumba, pumping,v ball, hospital visits and school fairs your work schedule will seem sedate.
    If you see Stef this weekend tell him hello- hope he’s getting a handle on the teaching game.
    much love from us both.XOXO

Your turn to share!

