Virginia Beach Rock ‘n’ Roll

18 Jul

Good morning!

I hope everybody’s Wednesday is getting off to a great start. I started off with a yogurt/bagel breakfast. The Chobani yogurt I used today was pomegranate-flavored and it was scrumptious. A few blueberries and strawberries on top and a cinnamon raisin bagel with peanut butter on the side and I was good to go!

I don’t have huge plans for the day, but I am looking forward to my workout in the evening: Body Pump and then a Zumba class! Last week the Body Pump class tired me out so much that I didn’t have the energy for the Zumba class. I’m hoping today I can go ahead and do both so I can get some cardio in through Zumba. I should be getting outside or jumping on the treadmill for a run though, because Stef and I are officially registered for the Virginia Beach Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon! Well, he’s registered for the half and I’m doing the mini marathon, which is the nice way of saying the 5k.

I don’t particularly enjoy running and it doesn’t come easily to me, but I signed up for a 5k (well, 4.7k) when I was living in Rome, when the city hosted the marathon in March, and I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the race! The Rock ‘n’ Roll series sounds like so much fun, with the bands performing along the course and the post-race beach concert, so I am really looking forward to it.

Post-race in Rome!

I had originally hoped to make this my first half marathon, but I haven’t had a chance to do anymore 5k or 10k races to lead up to this and I didn’t want to throw myself into a 13+ mile race unprepared. The Rock ‘n’ Roll is coming to Washington D.C. in March, so hopefully I will be ready for the half then! Stef was captain of the cross-country team in high school and has been a regular runner since, so he is looking forward to this as it will be his first Rock ‘n’ Roll race.

Stefano and our friend Tommy after the Kirkland Half Marathon

It’s over Labor Day weekend so it will be great to get away from the city and down to the beach for a long weekend. Plus, the post-race beach concert that night is headlined by Train, a band I absolutely adore! If anybody has any tips for preparing for longer races, please share! I would love to be able to do a 10k and then half marathon in the next few months, so spill all of your running secrets.

Wishing you all a very happy Wednesday!

3 Responses to “Virginia Beach Rock ‘n’ Roll”

  1. smltwngrl920 July 18, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    breakfast looked great!! have a great time tonight at body pump and zumba..you can do it!!

    • shefny July 18, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Thank you! They were great workouts – I’m a big fan 🙂

  2. Amy July 19, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    So glad you’re diggin’ Pomegranate! The seeds sorta rock, don’t they? Congrats on the race, Sara!

Your turn to share!

