Apocalypse Now

18 Jul

Good evening, darlings!

I hope everybody has had a wonderful day. If you’re in the DC area or are on the East coast, I hope the weather hasn’t turned your evening upside. We had a crazy storm today! 60 MPH winds and monsoon-like rain, it felt like the apocalypse and I was ready to say my prayers. Luckily for me, all it really did was make my bus ride to the gym REALLY slow going. But let’s back track to lunch today. I made myself another big salad (those are all I really want to eat in this summer heat!) with romaine lettuce, green pepper, tomato, a sprinkle of feta cheese, with a dash of balsamic vinegar. On the side, I filled a little bowl with carrots and added some hummus. That was a lie. I filled a bowl with hummus and added some carrots.


As I was munching on lunch, I worked on sprucing up my mom’s resume. She works mostly nights as a mental health professional for the county and decided to apply for a part-time position at the university where she got her master’s degree as a fun thing to do during the day. While she is good at many things, she is not the most adept at technology, so that’s where I come in. Which is not to say that I know my way THAT well around a computer, but I do know how to make a resume template.

As the afternoon passed, the clouds rolled in and it wasn’t long before I heard the rumbling of thunder and noticed strikes of lightning brightening up the windows. I don’t know about the rest of you but I really hate thunder. Maybe I have whatever sixth sense animals have that make them hate thunder and other loud noises. It really was an impressive storm and I contemplated skipping the gym and hiding inside for the rest of the night, but I decided to brave it and figured it might distract from all the loud noises coming from the sky

As you can see, I was really excited about going outside. As someone from the Pacific Northwest, it was so weird to have pouring down rain, yet have the temperature warm enough to wear shorts and a tank top. Luckily for me, the worst of it was over by the time I headed out to the bus stop and the rain had turned into more of a drizzle along the way. That weather, combined with DC rush hour traffic, did not make for an expedient journey to the gym. Fortunately, I wasn’t the only one caught in traffic and my Body Pump class started a little late so I got there right in the nick of time.

As usual, Body Pump kicked my butt and by the end of the class I was vowing to spend more time on weights. That, my friends, is what we call wishful thinking. The Zumba class was right after and I decided to stick around because I really like the instructor. He keeps things really fast-paced so you really get your heart rate up over the sixty minutes.

Dinner was not salad (though I was tempted), because I figured I needed some protein. I set a saute pan on the stove and used that to steam some frozen veggies, to which I added three beaten eggs and some salt, pepper, and garlic seasoning. After it was mostly cooked, I stuck a slice of mozzarella cheese on top and let it melt for a minute, then took it off the burner. Quick and delicious!

Frozen veggies are quickly becoming my new utility food – I just throw a handful of them into whatever I’m making, be it rice, pasta, or eggs. It’s an easy way to make a meal more substantial without adding a lot of calories, plus it helps you with your five-a-day! Go frozen veggies!

I don’t have anything going on for the rest of the evening so I’m probably going to tuck into a book and hope that the thunder doesn’t come back. I hope the rest of you have a great night!

One Response to “Apocalypse Now”

  1. Rebecca July 18, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Hey beautiful! I just finished my first intensive walk in a 12 week training program. One of the kind instructors hung with me as rhe solo walker – everyone else are runners – and we talked as we speed walked. Time for salad for meeee! Love your updates.

Your turn to share!

