Staples, Marshalls, and Target (oh my!)

17 Jul

Good evening all!

Pretty late over here, but I’m just out of the shower after getting back from volleyball. It was an open gym held at George Washington University and had a great turnout. There were lots of people of all skill levels who came out to play and it was nice that they had the four courts divided up by skill level so you had no trouble feeling like you were getting in a good game. For those of you who don’t know me personally, I have been a volleyball player for over 12 years and played competitively through high school and college (though not on the college team). After I moved to Rome, I stopped playing for a long time and it’s only now that I’m getting back on the court. Really looking forward to the upcoming open gyms and the volleyball league that I signed up to play in that starts at the beginning of August. Feels good to be back on the court!

Earlier in the day, I went over to a shopping mall that has a Staples, Marshalls, and Target all in one complex! My goal was to scope out their organizational items and strategize for when I get into the office at the end of the month and make it nice and organized. Am I the only one who just loves office supplies and containers? At each store, I just spent tons of time looking at all the fun ways to store things, along with all the fun office supplies (Staples and Target have neon colored composition notebooks!). Here are some of the goodies I’m thinking about using in my office. Let me know if you have suggestions of good ways to store LOTS of paper and files.

This would be great for organizing incoming/outgoing papers

Definitely have to get a couple of these to organize client files

So many containers!!! I’m sure I could find a use for them…

Amidst the organizational chaos, I got a bit sidetracked by these Steve Maddens at Marshalls…

I have been looking for work-appropriate clothes, but the shoe part always seems to come more naturally to me. Luckily, I resisted because I had JUST purchased a pair of heels last week and it seems a little ridiculous to have more pairs of shoes than you do clothes. But only a little ridiculous.

I also saw this really cute laundry basket that I want to buy after I’ve moved into my permanent house. It matches my color scheme of purple and gray perfectly!

On the way out, I stopped by the Bed, Bath, and Beyond to look at all those goodies they have to offer. I am so excited to get married someday because I can’t wait to register for things and take the little scanner and zap all the things my little heart desires! Someday…

I did find a really great duvet cover and throw pillows that I absolutely loved but were a little too far out of my price range. Might have to find a DIY-version on Pinterest and get crafty.

I had a little bit of time to spare after I left the shopping center, so I popped over to my future home and ate ice cream sandwiches with one of my future roomies. He is a ridiculously talented baker so I am so excited to move in, though slightly worried about my waistline. Shortly afterwards, I caught the bus downtown to catch up with an old high school friend for happy hour! It was great being able to see how he has been and have him tell me about the job he’s at for the summer. He is staying in Foggy Bottom, which is where GWU is located, so he kindly walked me over to the gym where I spent the evening playing volleyball.

It was a great day overall and I am SO ready for bed after 2+ hours of volleyball! I hope everybody has a great night and I look forward to catching up with all of you in the morning.

 

2 Responses to “Staples, Marshalls, and Target (oh my!)”

  1. Just Mari July 20, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    So after reading this post, I went out and bought that bed set. I have been redecorating my office to have a city/travel theme and when I saw that duvet I had a heart attack. Thanks for sharing…now I have to go donate some more blood so I can finish paying for it lol

    • shefny July 20, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Jealous! Yes, I wish I could justify buying that bed set, congratulations on your new purchase 🙂

Your turn to share!

