Happy Monday!

16 Jul

Hello everybody,

I hope you had a fantastic weekend and are ready to start the week off right! I started my day off with a big bowl of cold oatmeal which I had prepared yesterday and left in the fridge overnight.

When I took it out of the fridge, I topped the oatmeal with some fresh blueberries and a handful of Honey Nut Cheerios for some crunch. For those of you who are interested, it is super easy to make this stuff in big batches ahead of time and then snag out of the fridge for a quick breakfast in the morning. All you need is:

6 oz. yogurt (for this batch I just scooped out the contents of a Chobani cup from my Chobani pyramid)

1/2 cup oats (not the instant kind)

1/2 cup milk (I prefer soy milk, but you can use almond or regular)

Mix together and leave in refrigerator overnight. If you’re using plain yogurt, I recommend a little honey or fruit compote to make things a little sweeter.

When you take it out of the fridge the next morning, you can eat it plain or top with fresh fruit, granola, or whatever else you’d like. If you find that the oats are too thick for your liking, you can add a bit more milk to thin things out a little.

After breakfast, I headed out to the gym for a Zumba class, which is always fun. This particular instructor is really intense, so I always feel like I get a good workout in his classes.

After Zumba, it was back home for a quick shower and lunch preparation. Today, I threw together a salad with lettuce, green pepper, tomatoes, and a sprinkle of feta cheese. I drizzled a little balsamic vinegar on top and, with a side of carrots and hummus, I was good for lunch!

Now I’m off to meet my friend Amanda! She was one of my really good friends when I lived in Rome, and though she still lives there, she’s back at her parents’ house in Maryland for the summer. We are going to see Woody Allen’s new film, ‘To Rome With Love’ and then get some pizza for dinner. I hope you all enjoy your day, talk to you this evening!

2 Responses to “Happy Monday!”

  1. Style Elyte July 16, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    Looks very tasty! Thanks for the food inspiration. We have some great recipes on our blog as well! Feel free to check them out. ~Stylelyte

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mixing It Up « Magia e Pasta - January 17, 2013

    […] my friend Amanda from Rome, who is back in the DMV area to see her family. Long time readers may remember her from when I last saw her over the summer. She is finishing up school in Rome and caught me up on […]

Your turn to share!

