Girls’ Day Out and Romesickness

16 Jul

Good evening, lovelies!

When I left you, I was on my way to spend the day with my friend Amanda. It was so good to see her, even though it has only been a month since we last saw each other, though in that month I have moved from Rome to Seattle for a brief interlude to pack up my life’s possessions and then onto Washington. Big changes!

Isn’t she just the prettiest?

We made it in plenty of time to see the film, even with a quick stop at CVS to stock up on contraband snacks – Milk Duds and Mike ‘n’ Ikes! We arrived at the movie theater and it was…empty. As in, we were the only ones in the entire theater. Guess 3:15 in the afternoon on a Monday is not the peak time for movie-going…

A few people joined us just as the film was about to start, but it was basically an empty house. The move itself was just okay, definitely not Woody Allen’s finest work, in my opinion. It was still worth it to me because of all the great shots of Rome and being able to hear Italian again, though I left the theater feeling kind of Rome-sick (har, har).

Amanda and I had plans to get dinner at a pizza place she recommended called Red Rocks. It is Neopolitan-style pizza cooked a wood-burning, brick oven. It was a little early for dinner when we left the theater so we decided to wander into some nearby shops to kill time before heading to the restaurant. We wandered through Zara, H&M, and Forever 21, but nothing really caught my eye, except for this little gem…

I mean, who doesn’t want cats on their shirt?

Amanda modeled another stylish outfit we spotted.

Thumbs up for giant, neon yellow dresses.

We finally headed up to the restaurant where we got right down to it and ordered a margherita pizza for Amanda and a grilled eggplant pizza for myself. We had a wonderful time catching up, talking about the film and Rome, and having some good, old-fashioned girl talk. When our pizzas arrived, I was pleasantly surprised to see how similar they were to the pizzas Amanda and I had when we were in Naples for lunch. Yes, she and I took the train from Rome to Naples to get pizza for lunch – that’s dedication.

My grilled eggplant pizza was also topped with pesto and goat cheese – delish. Amanda got her stand-by margherita pizza with buffalo mozzarella and basil.

It was safe to say that she was pleased with her selection.

Over scrumptious pizza and wonderful conversation the time flew and by the time we decided to head out, we had been there for almost three hours! Not before splitting a tiramisu, however.

My kind of dinner date. Amanda is in the States until the 1st of August, so hopefully she can make time for another girls’ day before she heads back to Rome. I’m thinking we’ll go shopping for real next time, the cat shirt is calling to me.

Hope everyone has a great night, talk to you tomorrow!

One Response to “Girls’ Day Out and Romesickness”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mixing It Up « Magia e Pasta - January 17, 2013

    […] Rome, who is back in the DMV area to see her family. Long time readers may remember her from when I last saw her over the summer. She is finishing up school in Rome and caught me up on all the latest news from […]

Your turn to share!

