Tourists for the Day

15 Jul

Happy Sunday!

I just sent Stefano on his way back to Philadelphia, which was sad, but I’m glad that I have been able to see him over the weekends and now it’s just two more weeks until he’s back in Washington for good! Yesterday, he and I had a quick lunch of leftovers – salad and enchiladas! The enchiladas were delicious even the next day.

After lunch, we went to the National Mall to play tourists for the day. We walked around the side of the White House and up to the Washington Monument before heading over to the World War II memorial. We were going to go see Lincoln, but it was looking rather busy, so we decided to save it for another day. I don’t think it’s going anywhere anytime soon.

And then we took some goofy shots because, well, we’re goofy.

After a bit of sight-seeing, we left downtown to head back to the house where I will be moving next month. My future roomies were having a cookies and Lion King party. Now you know why I’m moving in. On the way, we stopped by Pete’s, a popular pizza place in DC for our own 14” pie of goodness. We ordered the ‘Down the Hill’, which was loaded with sliced meatball, sausage, caramelized onion, roasted peppers, wild mushrooms and Kalamata olives. YUM. I would show you a picture but we ate it too fast for me to take one. Whoops. Then we spent the evening watching Lion King and munching on cookies – one of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday night. As you can tell, I’m a very exciting person.

This morning we were off to attend an open house (or rather, open apartment) for Stefano, who is looking for a place with one of his friends from TFA Institute. I snagged a quick breakfast of yogurt and, after realizing I was probably going to be hungry, made a mini-bagel with peanut butter on top.

The apartment was only about 15 minutes away from where I’m living at the moment, so we headed out on foot. When we arrived, we ran into our friend Katie, who is planning on moving to DC in mid-August but has an interview next week which brought her to the city early. Imagine our happy surprise to see someone from back home!

After the open house, Stef needed to work on some lesson plans for his classes next week so I was on lunch duty. I ended up making Garlic Butter Pasta with a bag of frozen veggies tossed in so I could pretend it was a healthy meal. It was delicious, though and I DID use whole wheat pasta!

We didn’t have any Parmesan on hand (the horror!), so I topped it with a few sprinkles of feta cheese so there was some saltiness to it

This evening I am planning to spend finishing up Dale Carnegie’s ‘How to Win Friends and Influence People’ and, if I’m feeling ambitious, clean the kitchen. We’ll see what actually happens.

I hope everybody has a wonderful last day of the weekend, see you on the flip side!

One Response to “Tourists for the Day”

  1. Petrea Burchard July 16, 2012 at 12:55 am #

    I just had some of that Choban Greek yogurt the other day. It’s better than the stuff we’ve been getting at Trader Joe’s. I really hate to admit that.

Your turn to share!

