First Day on the Job

12 Jul

Good evening, everybody!

Today was my first day on the job, though not officially. I went in for an orientation/training day before I start at the end of the month. I woke up and had a quick yogurt/berry breakfast that was as delicious as always.

Here it is looking nice and pretty…

And here it is when I’ve stirred it all up:

…not so pretty.

Anyway, then I was off to work, where I spent the day going around the office and meeting everybody and was a fly on the wall while the person I’ll be replacing went about their day to day business. I am really looking forward to it, though I have to say, it is really nice being on summer vacation!

We stopped by PAUL, a cute French bakery and café for a quick lunch. I ordered the Le Maraîcher, a sandwich with grilled eggplant, roasted pepper, artichoke hearts, and lemon spread on a basil loaf – YUM. It was pretty pricey, but super tasty.

I had never tried basil in bread but, as always, basil made it delicious.

After my day at the office, I went back home to take care of some finance-y things, like ordering a checkbook and applying for a credit card. I had been in limbo with that stuff because I am subletting, but now that I know where I will be living permanently, it was time to get that show on the road!

Now I’m settling in for the evening with a big platter of these babies. Oh, how I love summer time and all the delicious fruits that are available! This Sunday is the 15th birthday of the Dupont Circle Farmer’s Market and so I will be sure to pay it a visit with Stefano, who will be down visiting this weekend! I can’t wait until we are back in the same city again.

I hope everybody has a lovely evening!

One Response to “First Day on the Job”

  1. Petrea Burchard July 12, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    It’s an exciting time, Sara!
    And it’s true, basil makes everything delicious.

Your turn to share!

