Bucket Lists and Cronuts

3 Jun

Happy Monday, all! It’s dreary in Washington, but we had a rather nice weekend where I managed to cross a major item off of my bucket list:

20130603-101518.jpg
Waffles
20130603-101611.jpg
Pancakes
20130603-101655.jpg
French toast

Yes indeed, folks – I managed to eat the trifecta of starchy, carb-y breakfasts in one weekend. I call it a major success.

In other starchy, carb-y news, a new breakfast dessert has come to town and it’s brought to you by the Dominique Ansel Bakery in New York City.

cronut2-1024x1024

Picture from Dominique Ansel Bakery

The cronut is a cross between a donut and a croissant and is said to be a lighter, flakier version of a cruller. Made from croissant pastry dough, the cronut is then fried and flavored by tossing it in sugar and then filling it with ganache before topping it with icing.

Apparently, the pastry mutation is so popular that the bakery is selling out 20 minutes into their opening sales. Each cronut is $5 and there is a 6 cronut limit for each customer. The pastries are so popular that New Yorkers have started scalping cronuts on Craigslist. Yes, that is a fact, see for yourself.

I am of the opinion that the croissant, when made well, is a thing of beauty and does not need to be butchered by being deep fried and then covered in a sugar bomb. Also, the name always reminds me of Cro-Magnons, which leads to me imagine lumbering, Neanderthal-esque beasts chomping on pseudo-pastries.

What are your thoughts on the craze?

3 Responses to “Bucket Lists and Cronuts”

  1. pickyrunner June 3, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I saw the cronut on food network last week. I NEED to try one. I love croissants and I love donuts even more. All they need is a thick layer of frosting and I’ll be one happy (and healthy ;) ) girl.

  2. My Nomad Life June 3, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    All of this looks amazing!

  3. Dawn H. June 4, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    that’s CRAZY that people are scalping them on craigslist!

Your turn to share!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

