Lucked Out

8 Nov

I did something this morning that I rarely, if ever, do. I didn’t finish my meal.

What you see is two scrambled eggs with the remnants of a bag of frozen peppers from Trader Joe’s and a little bit of salsa on top. I started in on it and thought, “Well, it’s not the best thing I’ve ever had, but it’s edible.” Fast forward three more bites and I could stomach one more mouthful. Something about the peppers was just off and it made the whole scramble taste funny. So I canned it. I was running low on time and wasn’t able to make an alternative breakfast, so I just figured that I would eat the apple in my lunchbox when I got to work. Buuuuut, I totally lucked out.

The internet provider for our building was doing a “thank you” promotion by providing breakfast in our lobby! Happily, I filled my plate with fresh strawberries, cantaloupe, grapes, and a yummy marmalade-filled, mini croissant. It’s like they read my mind and knew I needed breakfast this morning. Love how the world works sometimes.

We had a staff meeting yesterday at lunch, so we our food was catered and I was spared half an hour in the morning that is normally reserved for fixing lunch. I ordered a sandwich full of roasted vegetables inside a French roll. They also had a tray of cupcakes delivered and I picked out a carrot cake cupcake, which had lots of shredded carrot and was absolutely delicious!

I learned at lunch that one of my co-workers has a huge fear of pickles. What? I understand that people have fears they can’t explain: heights, tight spaces, flying, etc., but this was definitely the weirdest phobia I had ever heard. She’s also afraid of wipes (think baby wipes, Lysol disinfectant wipes, etc.). I don’t understand!!!!!

Food For Thought: Do you have a strange phobia that is totally irrational?

I’m afraid of thunder – every time I hear it, my eyes start to tear up and I want to curl up in the fetal position!

Happy almost Friday, folks!

 

 

 

 

Your turn to share!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers

